Farmer Ruins My World View

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I came across many rural farmers while traveling through the Longsheng (Dazhai ) rice terraces in China who have been working the land and eking out a living like countless generations before them had. I remember that I had woken up stupid early to squeeze in as much photography time on my last day here. I woke up and dressed in the dark and stepped out to the cold morning chill only to find my little friend standing outside my hotel, waiting for me to start the day. This little kid had taken to me and was determined to be my shadow. We floated in and out of temporary unoccupied houses while the owners were out farming. About mid-morning, we took a break and sat down to watch the rice farmers do their thing.

As I watched this old farmer till the land with this trusty horsie I began to wondered what their life would be like if they had access to modern day technology – would their lives be easier? Perhaps technology would deconstruct their way of life, making it no longer useful or relevant? I was lost in my own head thinking about the ramifications when all of the sudden the nice farmer stops pushing the horsie, reached in his pocket and pulled out a cell phone. He proceeded to have a chat with the person on the other end as I stared in complete disbelief. For all I knew he was talking to his trader to buy stock in Apple before the next iPhone launch. Even the horse was acting like this is a completely natural. Sheesh … way to ruin my world view rice farmer. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62324.87
ETH 2419.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65