Accidentally Transported Back to the 1920s! [Xplore Canada! Location: Burnaby Village Museum]

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_9801.jpg

There’s a museum I love that’s situated in Burnaby, Canada by Deer Lake Park. It’s called the Burnaby Village Museum and it’s an open-air museum reconstructed to look like a typical tram stop village in the 1920s. I must have visited this place around four or five times already now. One of the main reasons I am so attracted to this museum is because I love old things – especially vintage. There’s a certain nostalgic charm to things that used to be, like the old Kodak cameras and model T Fords.

IMG_9626.jpg
The sign in the window display says the large iced cake would have cost only 35cents!

The museum itself has recently become free for all visitors (another reason to go visit if you’re in the area!), and features a 1912 CW Parker carousel as well (this you do have to pay for if you want to ride – only a few dollars!).

I decided that this museum would be a perfect spot to film my next video. I started to envision a little story where the main character would be riding on a modern day train, fall asleep, and then be suddenly transported into the 1920s! So I started to plan. Once I knew what the storyline would be like, I had to ask someone to be my main character. Luckily, one of my friends was eager to volunteer, and we soon set a date for filming. I really wanted filming to go smoothly, and I knew that I didn’t want other museum visitors in my shots, so I decided to head to the museum a few days before we were scheduled to film so that I could take a few photos and remind myself again what the layout of the museum was and which shots I wanted to get.

IMG_9620.jpg
Outside the ice cream parlour, where you can actually buy ice cream from.

In the museum, there are typically a number of people dressed in period costume who will interact with you and explain things to you. One of the ladies in the houses was kind enough to try and give me some tips on when to come after I told her what I was planning on doing. Once I went home, I wrote out a shot list and ordered it in a way that would be the most efficient (by getting the most difficult locations to film without other people out of the way first – which I was betting would be in the tram).

IMG_9597.jpg
Interurban Tram #1223

The day of filming came, and my friend and I arrived at the museum before the doors opened. Surprisingly, there were already a number of other people also waiting for doors to open. When 10am arrived, the doors opened and we zoomed in, heading right for the Interurban Tram #1223, a beautiful restored tram from 1912.

IMG_9607.jpg
Interiors of the restored tram.

IMG_9735.jpg
Outside the Vorce Tram Station.

For the most part, filming went quite smoothly. A few times, we had to stand and wait a while for people to pass or we had to retake shots because we didn’t realize people were in the background. Once we were done, we rewarded ourselves with some ice cream from the ice cream parlour.

After a week of editing, this is the final result:

I would love to know what you think of the video! If you like it and want to see more, please follow as well as subscribe on Youtube! Thanks for reading!

Question of the day: If you could be transported to a different decade/time period for a day, what would you pick?

Sort:  

Great post and the video very well done. I attended school in Burnaby way back when.

@mmo-mmo Ah, did you! Thanks so much for reading and watching!

Daphne that video is so well done! I love how you told such a story about the visit in just your shots alone. Show us more!

@llfarms Thank you so much! I'm working on more content!

Love your choice of background music for this one! the film evokes a magical and dreamy feeling! i loooove it! :)

By the way, you have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are always on the look-out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group where we are a community that fosters camaraderie and help authors improve their blogging skills where we have mentors that conduct post feedback sessions and other things.

If you have time, do check us out!

https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as the one here)




Congratulations @daphnexplores! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59120.07
ETH 2921.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79