Sort:  

The association comes from a Romanian king or leader called Vlad the Impaler. He used to be very cruel with rich and unfair people from Romania. Based on that idea a novel by Irish author Bram Stoker was written with Dracula as main character. You can search more on the internet, but the main association is like I said. Actually, the novel was written at a place quite near to the lake I presented.

Thanks! I know about Vlad, Stoker, and Dracula but I've never read it and didn't realize that's where it was set. I just think it's funny that, here in America, most will think of such a beautiful place as dark, gloomy castles. I bet a lot of tourists ask you about that!

Yes I think that is the first think that people know about Romania or the region of Transylvania. Even if they do not know anything about Romania they know about Dracula and that Transylvania is Dracula's land.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52