Traverse City wedding and our day trip to Sleeping Bear Dunes

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Over the weekend we drove to Traverse City for my cousin's beautiful wedding! It was a LONG drive. Unfortunately we were not able to get Friday off of work so we left afterwards. Traverse City is about a 5 1/2 hour drive for us, and we took the scenic route which took about an hour longer so we didn't get in to town until about midnight.
Our drive was so beautiful right up until we were about 45 minutes to town. We were driving down a long, curvy, unlit road when we noticed up ahead there were some people crouched around something on the side of the road. Having some medical back round I felt the urge to help so I told me fiancé to pull over and see if there was anything we could do... It looked like they were surrounding s person. I thought maybe someone got in an accident and we wanted to see if everyone was okay. NOPE. When we pulled up it was a family all crying, surrounding what must have been their family dog and it looked like the dog must have gotten hit by a car and didn't look to be breathing. We sped off so as not to intrude on their last moments with their pet, looking at each other and started crying and freaking out. Mostly because we have 3 dogs at home and could not imagine what they were feeling at that moment.
We arrived in Traverse City a little shaken up but our attitudes changed when we met up with all of my family members. They're a crazy bunch but I wouldn't change them for the world.
The wedding was perfect and the whole day was absolutely beautiful.

Instead of driving right home we decided we would miss out on some of the traffic and spend the day at Sleeping Bear Dunes. We both had not been there since we were little so we were excited. Hungover as hell, but excited none the less. We brought some food and a blanket so we could take a nap on the beach :)

We walked about 10 miles on the beach that day! The views we SO amazing!

I thought about getting in the water so walked over the rocky beach to the water..

Buttttt once I felt the water that was a big NO! The water was beautiful but FREEZING so I hung back and watched my fiancé freeze his ass off instead haha!

Once he decided that the water was too cold to swim in he got out pretty quickly

While he swam I made this :) Our initials are DK and DF

And here's my palm tree rock I found :)

We found our spot to nap :)

And after a couple hours at the beach we make our hike back to our car and drove the long trip home :)

What a fun weekend!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63240.82
ETH 3048.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80