Peace Corps Prospects

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemers! The piece that follows is my application essay for the Peace Corps, which asked why I wanted to volunteer and how I would cope with the challenges. I'm stoked about the potential and hope you enjoy this piece :)


My name is Danielle Schmid, and I wish to become part of the human machinery that enables Peace Corps to operate. This entices me because of my passionate craving for meaningful work. I seek out meaningful challenges because they demand full presence of mind and body. For example, I am an avid hiker and outdoors- lady. I love dirt, sore muscles, and the beauty of an expansive mountain top. Manual labor is satisfying because it allows me to viscerally experience progress. I have spent time in South America building bathrooms and schools; each project was an opportunity to participate in creating something from start to finish. Additionally, I have heard Corps volunteers describe themselves as responders to the specific needs of their community; I have acted in this role in the past. My time in South America included volunteering in medical clinics that addressed local health concerns with cultural sensitivity. I have helped patients to address culturally- ingrained lifestyle choices to better their health; I have learned from Peruvian farmers that a life of abundant movement gifts extra years of vitality. It has been a privilege to engage in this reciprocal exchange of knowledge. I have long admired the Corps’ diplomatic work and returning volunteers- it would be an honor to stand for and with these individuals.

I understand that there are challenges associated with Peace Corps service, many of which I will be unable to predict or prepare for. It is important to discern what is within our realm of control and what falls beyond it; I am at peace with both. We are responsible for our degree of presence with the community and its people. The more we try new things, initiate conversation, ask questions- the deeper relationships we build. Individual connections grow, networks form, and a sense of identity is created. I define this identity as a role recognized by those around you. Relationship, connection, recognition: all of these are things that make us feel welcomed into a place. Remaining present is also important in regards to projects. If we offer ourselves as tools, our days will be full of meaningful work. Being a part of completing this work is rewarding, especially in conjunction with a team. It allows us to build a sense of purpose, ensuring that we feel useful and necessary in our positions. Even in trying to saturate my experience with these qualities, I predict that I will feel homesick and lonely. I will find solace in yoga, journaling, and music. I will engage in mindfulness meditation and go running. I would love to have my partner, Brett Fergusson, with me as an intimate piece of home. I welcome the challenge into my life and look forward to growing through it.

Sort:  

Wow @danigirl! You improve the world every day. Thank you for doing what you do. When anyone experiences what it is to give, without expecting anything in return. You end up getting much more!
I am from Argentina, and as you have seen, many things are needed in Latin America. Already consumed by political corruption, people are getting poorer. But the kindness and good heart of the people is something that is not changed. I imagine that you have received great hugs from any Latin. And that kind of show of affection is priceless.
Thank you for contributing your little bit to our community. I hope all your wishes are fulfilled! Big hug!

@tincho

Ah I can't tell you how much it means to me to hear this from you! I so appreciate you taking the time to read and respond in such an uplifting and insightful way. Sending you light!
Also, I cannot wait to return to Latin America. Your area of the world is a place I have come to love.

You deserve it my friend. What you do is so but so big, that the world needs more people like you.

This post should have more visibility. You deserves more recognition. I do not know if you know, but you can join steemtrail in discord and promote your posts in the different trails. If any curator chooses your post, it will be voted by all users who are part of the steemtrail community (about 160). I can't choose you, because I only can choose content in Spanish.

Feel free to join with THIS link.

I hope you have a beautiful day!

I did not know, but the insight is so appreciated! I just took advantage of that :) Thank you for sharing the wealth- inclusion is so important in this community!

You're welcome! Any questions you have, you can consult me or ask on the ask-rick-and-joe and steemtrail channels. Good luck @danigirl! It has been a pleasure to meet you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84