My favorite hikes in the U.S.

in #travel7 years ago

Hey everyone, I love to travel and hike. I'm going to do a list of my top 10 favorite hikes in the U.S. The first hike on the list is the Ice Lakes Hike. This spectacular hike is in the San Juan mountains in southwest Colorado near the town of Siverton. It's right off the famous San Juan Skyway road. The hike is 7.5-8 miles round trip (depending on which lake you go to) with about 2,500 feet of elevation gain. It's a strenuous hike but the views are incredible. I did suffer a bit of altitude sickness on this hike as the lakes are around 12,800 feet. Here are a few pics. The day we went was cloudy but the colors of the lakes was incredible.

IMG_5255.JPG

IMG_5281.JPG

Ice Lake

IMG_5272.JPG

Island Lake

IMG_5297.JPG

I'll post the next hike on the list tomorrow!

Sort:  

Wow! Those photos are incredible.

love last 2 photos. They bring the sense of peace and calm. THank u.

Awesome photos!

Looks great!

Holy dang, that's amazing! I keep looking at travel pictures and it makes me more and more aware of just how...tan the desert is! Haha. I just saw one of your brother's posts where he is playing piano, and he said that you played too! I love to connect with musicians on Steemit, since the community is still really small! Then I came here and saw amazing pictures too! So cool!

@Danielley - you need to post some more amazing photos, it been awhile!

Congratulations @danielley! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54