The Edinburgh Vaults

in #travel7 years ago

On the second day of my visit to Edinburgh I decided to do something new. I have heard about South Bridge Vaults from quite a few people and all of them said it's an absolute must. It became one of those places that I knew I will have to see sooner or later. My sister and brother in law with whom I was staying decided to join me. We booked a ghost walk with Mercat Tours.

DSCF4280.JPG

I am interested in the occult and paranormal so hearing about ghost sightings seemed like a fun thing to do. After some introduction and brief tour of the closes and buildings we dived into the darkness of the underground city.

DSCF4282.JPG

First thing you notice when descending down below is a musty smell characteristic of the cellars and basements. Our tour guide Fred explained a lot about the history and use of the place in addition to the ghost tales. She weaved the sightings of phantoms into a story of the culture and inhabitants of the place which made it interesting and fun.

DSCF4284.JPG

I didn't experience anything unusual when strolling through the vaults. Perhaps ghosts were tired of entertaining or spooking visitors that day. Perhaps they could tell I am not scared and ignored me. I would love to have an opportunity to go there by myself sometime. Being alone in there would have been something for sure and just maybe the ghosts would invite me for a bottle of claret to tell me about crimes and debaucheries of the past. I like to think that they would.

DSCF4291.JPG

Ghosts or no ghosts, being down there in darkness and candle light felt like a travel through time. We were shown different signs of human inhabitants who worked, lived and hidden in those vaults despite absolutely horrid living conditions. We were told stories of crime, of love and everyday living in the days gone past. It was a poignant reminder of the colourful and often dark Scottish history.

DSCF4276.JPG

Sort:  

This is amazing. I remember way back before when me together with friends, visited a centennial house at 12 midnight. It was fun and a bit scary.

Thank you. :) I love spooky places. I visited ruins of Boleskine House at night couple of moths ago. It was great. I will write a blog about it once I get back from my travel.

Great. You need to share that event :)

The dead will know who is strong! Spirits are intelligent, and sneaky, they dont bother you, because they are afraid of banishment. Excellent pictures!

Cheers! I remember when I did a seance with friends when I was 10. We had very clear manifestation and I was happy and ready to chat. Meanwhile all my friend run out screaming. :D I thought it was incredibly rude to evoke a spirit and then run when it arrived and my friend claimed her room was haunted for months afterwards.

Congratulations @dana-varahi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Iv liven in this city for over half my life and Iv never yet been down to the vaults. I really should someday.

Although, I have been to a few club nights in venues that are basically these vaults, like banshee labrynth and a few others whose names escape me.

It looks really spooky down there, strange to think that I walk over these many days.

I heard of banshee labyrinth from my family and friends in Edinburgh, they go there sometimes too. :)

It's funny how often we do not go and see what's in our own town. I live in Inverness since 5 years and I never visited the museum, although I often walk pass it. :D

The vaults are really cool. Our tour guide said that the most spooky thing is to go there to blow the candles after the last tour. I would love to do that all by myself. :D

Lol yeah, being down there in the darkness would be scary I think.

One thing I know is, these vaults are all connected to the clubs and pubs around town, so Iv heard from many people who work in these places and have to go down to change the beer etc that they sometimes hear noises from other venues, shouts, screams, clangs etc

I guess when its a "tourist attraction" in our home city, we think its not for us its for tourists and Im not a tourist so it would be embarrassing to see it. I am now certain I need to go to the vaults :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67462.12
ETH 2623.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67