Saint-Catherine's Church, Honfleur - 15th Century Church Resembling Ship's Hull

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_0338.JPG


While we were in Honfleur, we visited this old 15th century church, which was built by traditional ship builders after the 100 year war. The ceiling of this church strongly resembles the inside of a ship's hull, as you can see in the pictures below.

IMG_0327.JPG

There were also a couple of beautiful paintings, I don't really know when they were painted, but I assume they were pretty old. The theme shouldn't really surprise you, since it's a church after all...

This was just a very short visit, I don't think we stayed in there for more than 10 minutes. I mean, we were glad that we went there, but we had both seen our fair share of churches while we were growing up. Usually it's something we'd visit on every family vacations and they all look very similar.


Check out Mannabase if you want to receive a free basic income

Receive free Litecoins every 5 minutes

Get FREE basic income through Swiftdemand

 
The 3 links above are referral links and support this blog


@adsactly

Sort:  

I think this is a great example of how a place's creators can influence its architecture and design. It's a great case study for storytellers/worldbuilders because of that.

To say nothing of historians.

LOve old churches like this such cool style and this one s so well lit

@bingbabe is one for churches, but me being non-religious am generally not, unless we can venture up into the heights of the upper building as we did in Geneva. As you say they are pretty much similar inside.

I like them from an architectural point of view, this one was somewhat interesting in that regard. Yeah, I don't have too much for religion either.

This is a beautiful church, I think I visited it a few years back. Hope it was nice and cool inside, it is stinking hot at the moment in Western Europe....

Nice pictures, it looks pretty cool. It also kind of reminds me of an old mead hall, or what they tend to make them look like in the movies I guess. The painting looks like it could have been inspired by the crusades or something similar.

Yeah that does look like a scene of the holy lands being pillaged by Muslim soldiers. I imagine it might have been used as propaganda during those times.

Oh man I'm a sucker for church architecture. This is beautiful and quite different from the usual Spanish inspired churches that we have here. I would have spent hours there taking photos and would be hard to pull me away. Thanks for sharing.

which was built by traditional ship builders after the 100 year war.

If you look at the church carefully it actually has very ship-like look inside!
Built in the 15th century... imagine if those walls could talk!

The vintage beauty👌 still standing tall and handsomely...👍

very beautiful church, great post!

@daan Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.34
ETH 2738.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61