Travel Tip: Moravian Wine Trails, unique combination of wine-tasting and cycling

in #travel6 years ago

Dear Steemit friends and followers,

Welcome to my Travel Tip edition where I promote some of the most beautiful places, interesting landmarks and impressive architectural sites of my homeland, the Czech Republic.

Today, I have something really special for you as I will introduce you to the famous Moravian Wine Trails.

vineyard-grapes-1418061709KAT.jpg
Source: Public Domain Pictures (Creative Commons)

You probably have not heard of these trails before so I should start out by explaining what they actually are.

Started in 1999, the Moravian Wine Trails is a unique project designed to protect and promote viticulture (the science, production and study of grapes) in the Southern Moravian Region of the Czech Republic, an area known for producing the best wines in the country.

Almost 300 towns and villages in the Southern Moravian Region joined the project and get inter-connected by a network of bike trails.

two-men-on-bicycles-1509960_960_720.jpg
Source: Pixabay (Creative Commons)

Visitors of the area can simply hop on a bike and pick a trail. The trail will take them through the beautiful Southern Moravian countryside while showing them the folklore and culture of local people. There are many stops on each trail where the visitors can try different wines produced in the region.

Covering total length of about 1,200 km (750 mi), the Moravian Wine Trails lead through some of the most popular places and landmarks of the region such as the Lednice-Valtice Cultural Landscape, the Nove Mlyny Dam or the picturesque valleys of the River Thaya.

Zámek_Lednice_2.jpg
Source: Wikimedia Commons (Creative Commons)

The Moravian Wine Trails shouldn’t be missed by anyone who likes wine and/or cycling. Trying on of the trails will definitely be one of the highlights of your visit to the Czech Republic.


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Travel Tip: Karlovy Vary, world-famous spa town that has something for everybody

Steemit reached 700,000+ accounts & Steem named one of TOP 3 cryptos by Investopedia!

Collection of some of the most amazing photos from Prague/Czech Republic submitted recently by your fellow Steemians

Travel Tip: Bojnice Castle, stunning piece of medieval architecture that horror fans will love


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

Looks like an amazing place to visit. Gonna check more info about it. no doubt, best account on Steemit by [email protected] and resteemed

Thank you so much for your compliment. It sure is an amazing place to visit! I go there at least twice a year:)....

It's a beautiful place! I'd like to go some day ... It's a shame that im so far away. Thanks for sharing! Greetings from Latin America!

Make it a dream, make a plan and I am sure that one day, sooner or later, it will come to a fruition. Tomas

Is there a special membership or due process I have to follow before I can be a part of the Moravian Wine Trails or can just anyone join the train?

Do you mean that if I visit Czech Republic, I will just be able to partake in this trail?
If yes, it will really be awesome.

I expect your response.
Thank you.

Absolutely, opened to all for no cost. Just a little will and some power to hit the pedals of the your bicycle:)....

Wow!
This is awesome then. More like some community service you know. Thanks for educating me.

I hope to visit Czech Republic real soon and I hope you would be willing to host me.

20180201_155626(0).jpg

Good Post.

Thank You...

This is a very interesting post, I love this. Maybe you can fly me to Czech someday.. Lol

Very beautiful posts.

I can literally "taste" those grapes....the sweetest. love the photo.

Beautiful combination!!!! 😍😘😍

Excellent post my friend @czechglobalhosts i like post and resteemid

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62872.85
ETH 3031.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92