Travel Tip: Lipno Dam, great place for your next summer holiday in the Czech Republic

in #travel6 years ago

Dear Steemit friends and followers,

Welcome to my Travel Tip edition where I promote some of the most beautiful places, interesting landmarks and impressive architectural sites of my homeland, the Czech Republic.

Today, I will take you to a popular summer recreation area and the country´s largest dam at the same time, the dam of Lipno.

Stezka_korunami_stromů._Lipno_nad_Vltavou._(14.).jpg
Source: Wikimedia Commons (Creative Commons)

Set in the spectacular natural surroundings of the Sumava Mountains in Southwestern Czech Republic, the Lipno Dam is the largest body of water in the country with a total area of almost 5,000 hectares and a volume of 306 million cubic meters.

The dam was built between 1951 and 1960 on the Vltava River to protect Cesky Krumlov and other towns and villages in the area from flooding. Later on, the dam was turned into a hydro power plant as two giant, high-performance turbines were added to it.

VE_Lipno_I_-_panoramio.jpg
Source: Wikimedia Commons (Creative Commons)

These days, however, the Lipno Dam is mostly used as a recreational area popular among both domestic as well as foreign tourists. Visitors can choose from a variety of outdoor activities ranging from cycling and inline skating to fishing, windsurfing and sailing. There are many types of boats that can be rented such as yacht, sail boats, catamarans, jet skis etc.

Stezka_korunami_stromů._Lipno_nad_Vltavou._(10.).jpg
Source: Wikimedia Commons (Creative Commons)

The Lipno Dam area is also where you can find one of the most recently built and popular tourist attractions of the whole country. Known as the Treetop Walk, it is a huge construction made from wood and metal. The walkway starts at the tree roots and leads through the canopy of local forests. Suitable for families with children, the attraction is open all-year-round.


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Travel Tip: Karlovy Vary, world-famous spa town that has something for everybody

Steemit reached 700,000+ accounts & Steem named one of TOP 3 cryptos by Investopedia!

7 World's Continents Photo Challenge - week #18 - vote for your favorite picture of the week!

Travel Tip: Bojnice Castle, stunning piece of medieval architecture that horror fans will love


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

First of all thanks to you man for sharing such a grea tips and also wonder place. If i will get a chance to travel obviously i will try to go there. You did good post. I appreciate you always the way you doing this work and promoting some wonder place. @czechglobalhosts

I certainly hope that you will be able to visit one day. Make it a dream and with that dream make a plan and I am sure that one day it will all come to fruition. Tomas

Wow, this is massively spectacular.. Czech Republic is really beautiful... I just hope one day, i get the chance to photograph alot of places like the Lipno dam. Great content @czechglobalhosts

I hope you can one day. Would be great so you can take part in my challenges. Tomas

I will make it happen.. Thank you @czechglobalhosts

WOW that place is off the hook beautiful! Idk what it is but id rather see nature them some wack job buildings when going on vacation lol

Absolotely agreed, I am on the same wave with you.....

A place so free, enjoy the summer, but now there is no holiday for me because the college assignment is very much, thanks for sharing the excellent traveltip, have a nica day Tomas.

Good luck with your assignments! Tomas

Thank you very much, you very well have supported me, happy and respect for you Tomas.

hej mat po tom, co viděl tento obrázek musím říct, že jsem miloval tyto obrázky chci navštívit svou zemi, přeji bych tam cestovat. díky za tak dobrý příspěvek.
Udělal jsem příspěvek na vás, pokud u dont mysl a pokud máte volný čas laskavě navštívit to a dejte mi vědět o tom, jak se cítíte.

@czechglobalhosts

Wow.. So nice Image and view. Such a great photography and wonderful place. I like it , I appreciate your work .you does really nice work.. Keep it up my friend @czechglobalhosts

Wow.. Really great image..such a beautiful place and nice photography..i love it, very nice view and thanks for sharing.@czechglobalhosts

The scenery is very beautiful I like it very much @czechglobalhosts travels are increase our knowledge
anather lovely place i see here

          iam waiting your next post sir 



                 RESTEEM DONE   !!!!!!!

Wow amazing place.I like your post.And I also like travel like you.Thanks for sharing.Upvote and resteem done.IMG_3437.GIF

Beautiful place, I hope I can visit it someday since I am a bit far away ... (Venezuela). Successes, your photos are beautiful!.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94