My One Month Solo Backpacking Trip to Europe for $3,000 USD – Part one

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1654.JPG
Header.PNG

PART ONE – WHY I WENT TO EUROPE


I had been “planning” on taking a trip to Europe ever since I was a freshman in high school. I would repeatedly vow to go this summer but didn’t because of this excuse, and that. Well, it took me until my junior year in college to finally go.

I’ve had the bug to travel since I was young. My parents took an around the world trip right after they got married (before me). They bought an around the world pass with an airline and basically could fly wherever they wanted to for a few months. They went to over 40 countries. It was amazing. I always loved flipping through their photo albums and hearing about their adventures. I had the bug early and it stuck with me. I would get discouraged at times because I wasn’t doing something and then I would realize I’m only 13! However, once I started to turn 18… 19… 20… my excuses started to narrow and the only thing holding me back was… me. I had some adventures up to that point, in fact I had many; But, not THE adventure. I had to do it, but I kept finding “good” reasons why I couldn’t.

BeFunky Collage.jpg

A few pictures of my parents on thier around the world trip. The photos above are from Egypt and China.

It’s funny, the reason I finally pulled the trigger; It wasn’t a surge of money, a change in circumstances, or an epiphany, it was my girlfriend, Erica! I was looking at plane ticket prices (which I often did) and was telling her I was going to go the following summer (like I always did). We had just started dating the previous fall and she didn’t know my habit of dreaming and not doing. So, here’s what drove me to do it… It’s simple... She didn’t respond with “that sounds nice” or worse, “It’s too dangerous. Who will you go with?” She simply just said “Yeah, you will. I know you. You’re going to do it.” Well, suffice it to say, she’s a keeper and I bought a ticket to Munich, Germany the next day.

BeFunky Collage1.jpg

Here is a picture of Erica and I. She ended up regretting giving me that encouragement because I was gone for a month. She is the best (:

So now, I had a two-way, non-refundable ticket to Germany and 29 days of adventure to be planned in between. I didn’t have anyone to go with (my parents didn’t like that), but I couldn’t let that be an excuse anymore. It was so hard to get my own self to finally commit, how hard would it be to get one of my friends? The answer to that hypothetical question is… not easy. I tried inviting friends who really wanted to come but ended up not being able to. They had school, or work, or some other “legitimate” reason. Honestly, I think I would have preferred to go with someone, but if I had waited on someone to go, I still wouldn’t have taken the trip.

Here’s to you if you are thinking about traveling:

“Yeah, you will do it. I don’t know you, but you can do it. I know you’re going to do it.”

~ Cyd

Maybe that didn’t hit you as hard as my girlfriend’s words hit me, or maybe it did, but stop listing excuses and make it happen. You won’t regret it. I promise.

IMG_2338.JPG

That’s all for part one. It is a bit light, but it is more of a glorified introduction. Next week, we will dive into part two in which I’ll reminisce on the steps I went through to plan my trip, share insights on things I would have done differently and give some advice and encouragement to everyone out there who has the bug to travel.

Until next time, your friend,

@Cydthekid

Sort:  

Upvoted! great introduction, hope you like the platform and will do well!
hope this is a strat to travel more! i did so for four years and post about it now. Hope you like it!
will keep an eye out for your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99