You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Expat Life: Lying Landlords

in #travel7 years ago

Hi! I just did a post about the predatory practices of my landlord (in the US). Although a judge declared their practices predatory when they tried to evict me, they continue their practices. I guess a different kind of lawsuit would be required to get them to stop.

Sort:  

Cubbyworks,
That stinks. I never had "eviction-level" landlord abuse when I was living in the USA. We did have to take one landlord to small claims court where the judge slapped her around hard (metaphorically of course), but nothing like what you must be going through. GOOD LUCK!

Thank you! I think it's in part because I'm on a month-to-month lease, although I've been here 10 years. I own a trailer and pay lot fees, and the policies are archaic; they don't look at trailers with the same housing policies as a normal house. I'm ok now, but yes, it was a shocking and difficult time. I lucked out with legal aid from the state!

That's good to hear. A government actually helping a citizen. Who woulda thunk it!

LOL - I know! And actually it was the people (lawyers), NOT the gov - I didn't technically qualify for the help, but they took the case because it was so bad. "Compelling" is the word they used. Thank you, take care and good luck to you too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45