You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I Got to Travel to Qatar for Free

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Wooo, so awesome! The only time I got a "free" hotel stay was when we were returning from the US to Venezuela. The airline had a delay of 3 days (normal issue with Venezuelan airlines...) and they kept saying "just a few more hours!".

Something like 2 days in where we slept in the airport, mostly on the carpet, thinking that the airplane might come at any time, they finally admitted that it was going to take more than 5 hours to come, which meant they had to pay for our stays... if we managed to book a hotel.

So, they lent us a phone and we tried many many hotels and finally found one that had available rooms that Sunday at 3 a.m. We went there in a taxi, we stayed and ate breakfast from their included buffet. Then we went back to the airport and it seems they only paid up to $80 per person, if I remember correctly, so we ended up paying a bit extra out of our pockets after giving them the bill (we rented 2 rooms and Miami hotels near the airport aren't so cheap).

Sort:  

Haha girl you never sleep! Ugh 3 days?? That sounds like such a hispanic thing to say" just a few more hours" lol. Sucks you had to sleep on the carpet. I've had to do that, too. Only it was my fault for reading military time wrong lol. Miami is expensive! If you're brave enough...I recommend couchsurfing.com next time if you ever get stuck!

I had a similar experience is Doha. Delayed for 9 hours, but now I know that I can use that to my advantage. #wiser #lessonlearned #firssttimetraveler

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57326.97
ETH 2428.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32