You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Look Like a Local When Travelling

in #travel6 years ago

Don't smile 🤣 you are soooo right. As someone from the south(USA) it is very common here to smile at strangers. I think I am getting better at looking aloof when I travel but it's a struggle 🤷🏼‍♂️ but everything you described is absolutely spot on.

Sort:  

If I ever get to visit USA, and especially Texas and Louisiana, which I'm sure I would love, I will probably think you are all crazy for smiling 😁 In Finland, smiling to strangers makes people think you are a half witted idiot 😂😝

I am from Texas , we say howdy to all people 🤣 not really but that's the stereotype. I found in Russia it's the worst but people there love Americans so I think deep down they want to smile ;)

I imagine Texal being hot, dry and sunny. People wear denim, cowboy boots and carry guns out in the open. Driving in dirt tracks with ATVs and ending the night in a warn out bar, having beers and a greasy meal. People are wary of strangers but when warmed up, very friendly. DO NOT DARE to ruin my image!

95% correct but I will not tell you which part is wrong 😁 Image remains intact 😉

If it's the gun part, them I'm going to be really bummed about that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69672.37
ETH 3356.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74