Come Holiday with Me As We Visit: South India! (Chennai)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians, this is the 5th instalment of the holiday photo magazine series that I have started titled “Holiday with Me”. Here I share with you holiday pictures of the countries that I have visited, presented in a glossy magazines sort of way, high on visuals, short on rhetorics. I shall though be adding a short description of what is going on at the scene, I shall be telling you a little bit about the city that Im at, what my experiences were, etc.

Enjoy the pictures, follow, upvote to encourage me, feel free to resteem as you see fit and leave a comment to let me know what you think.

So, come, hold my hand as we explore the wonderful city of Chennai! - (apologies, this visit took place a few years ago so some of the pictures are a tab grainy, but stick with me the anecdotes make up for it) :)

Today we visit the lovely Indian city of Chennai! - Chennai is a large city in south India, sitting on The Bay Of Bengal (look out for pictures and more details on The Bay Of Bengal further down ) Chennai is probably most famous for that bay!, during the days of the East India Company and colonial rule, Chennai was known as Madras but now in present times it is known as Tamil or the Tamil region.

Filled with historical monuments, ancient temples and a wonderful people, Chennai was a glorious place to visit.

chennai.jpg

564190_10151219386675030_325157627_n.jpg

Going from memory I think the second picture is of Nataraja, Nataraja is a representation of the Indian Hindu God Lord Shiva as a dancer, the sculpture symbolises Lord Shiva as the lord of the dance ( apologies Michael Flatley, te he ;) )

india3.jpg

vfffff.jpg

chennai tamil dadu.jpg

This picture was taken on the Bay Of Bengal, so, thats one ticked off the bucket list! lol - The Bay Of Bengal is the largest bay in the world, straddling Myanmar , Sri Lanka, Bangladesh , Indonesia and bits of Thailand in an unbroken stretch, the locals insist that it is also the longest coastline in the world! and who am I to argue.

One thing that cant be argued against though is that it is certainly an impressive sight! :)

526125_10151219403290030_379673600_n.jpg

I had to add this picture, we were lucky enough to be there at the same time that the Indian military were carrying out a tattoo, there were Indian forces commandos spiralling (is that the right verb??) down a rope from the helicopter onto the beach. We lucked out on that one, it was beautiful to see :)

376723_10151219405945030_1649944110_n.jpg

Horse and cart? ..... cow and cart! .... and why not? ;)

228505_8451520556_6710_n.jpg

419290_10151219407510030_253521321_n.jpg

Okay so we decided to visit a temple as one must when one is visiting India, when we got there, they looked us up and down and asked us to stand to one side, they came back and told us that we had to take off our shoes before we could enter the temple, and so we did, they looked us up and down again and told us that it was too late to enter the temple, so we decided to take a couple of pictures outside of the temple before we leave, that is what is going on here, as we finished taking our pictures and we were about to leave they came back again and said we COULD! come into the temple afterall! ... lol ... no cameras though!

225310_8451490556_7669_n.jpg

Having drinks before going out clubbing, funny thing about Indian clubs, or at least the clubs in Chennai, they have a "no stags on the dance floor" policy!, what does this mean I hear you ask, well, they have this rather cute thing, when the ladies are on the dance floor the men (stags) are not allowed to be there unless a girl specifically asks you to come and dance with her. Not keen on the old bump and grind I guess ... lol ;)

284570_10151219390000030_1199077994_n.jpg

Busted by the cops! - mock arrest by the cops - well, Im not sure if he is really a cop, probably a parking attendant or a security guard but he was wearing a uniform so I persuaded him to play along for the photo op. :)

226554_8451525556_7082_n.jpg

I put this picture in because of the meal that came shortly after it was taken I really wish I had a picture of it, that would have made the more meaningful, however, shortly after this picture was taken a large platter of a baby shark was presented to Chris and myself for our lunch!

chennaidd.jpg

Making friends

And there we have it folks, that was the lovely charming city of Chennai - Sorry about the grainy pictures they were taken a good while ago but I hope that the anecdotes made up for the poor quality of the pictures.

Sort:  

seems like you enjoyed a lot.. I would recommend you to watch a Tamil film at the cinema greater while u r there..

thanks for the upvote man! :)

haha you are welcome

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cryptogrind to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Wow...lovely...am glad you liked . I am happy to say that I am from south India and live in Bangalore...Do visit Karnataka sometime.

thanks! ...... you have a very beautiful country! :)

I hope you had a great time there as your article speaks itself :)
I'm not from India, I'm from Pakistan but, we have almost the same cultural background so I can quite relate to it :)

many thanks, ive got other logs from my travels that you can have a look at when you have time to spare ... and thanks for the upvote! :)

Did you enjoy your trip?

it was brilliant, i would recommend it to anyone

Nice travelogue! I would so like to visit India someday, but your pics and stories will make me happy for now! Kudos! 😊

many thanks, ive got other logs from my travels that you can have a look at when you have time to spare ... and thanks for the upvote! :)

What a great trip you have
Thank you very much for sharing
Excellent post @cryptogrind

many thanks, ive got other logs from my travels that you can have a look at when you have time to spare ... and thanks for the upvote! :)

The pleasure was mine
I will check your trips later, I love reading your posts, they are excellent

Enjoy your trip😊 ... thanks for sharing!!

many thanks ... and thanks for the upvote! :)

very nice bost my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54