Tokyo is The Best Metropolitan City (That I've Visited So Far)

in #travel6 years ago

Tokyo was awesome and I want to go back.

I spent a week at the "Anne Hostel" in Ryogoku area and met lots of travelers from all over the world. I think it had the highest diversity of people from different places compared to other places where they seem to all be Australian(Nicaragua) or Argentinian (Colombia).

I highly recommend visiting the Tokyo Government Building which has 48 floors and a huge viewing area with lots of different vantage points for guests. Apparently on a clear day you can see Mt. Fuji ( IMG_0877.JPG

Surprisingly there are tons of parks scattered everywhere in Tokyo. I like this because while you're in a major city, you have immediate access to wildlife, greenery and Japanese landscape architecture which is amazing. I think I love their use of bridges the most.
IMG_0796.JPG

IMG_0794.JPG
IMG_0855.JPG

My favorite building in japan is definitely the "Tokyo Skytree", while I didn't have a chance to go to the top, I had a nice time trying to take pictures of it. It is over 2000 feet high and was the tallest structure in the world in 2011.

IMG_0969.JPG

Beyond all the sights, I generally enjoyed just wandering around Tokyo as it was very clean, orderly and everything seemed to work intuitively. I can't read japanese, but most of the time signage had an easy to follow sign.

Japan has a lot of alley ways that feel like their own little universe. The best example I have of this is Golden Gai which is a district w tons of tiny little restaurants and it looks "just like in the movies".

When I went with my group we crawled to the upstairs section where about 15 people were crammed in a few hundred and got some Soba.

IMG_0890.JPG

I'd love to go back to Tokyo and be able to spend more time, also really want to go to other cities such as Kyoto, Osaka, and Hiroshima/Nagasaki.

Bonus picture of drunk guy from Belarus passed out in the hostel lounge. IMG_1018.JPG

Sort:  

ahhh you should have gone up to the top of skytree! the sight is amazing ahahha

A reason for me to go back! I feel like I had just a sneak peak of Japan. I will do much more exploring next time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57563.20
ETH 3078.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41