Oakland, California - Sunset in the Park

in #travel6 years ago

Lake Merritt is definitely the highlight of the Oakland area. On a warm Sunday in winter I went for a walk with nothing in particular to see, but I was pleasantly surprised at the natural beauty and events happening.

After a few minutes walk I stumbled upon a guy making giant bubbles. He was busy inspiring kids imaginations and entertaining the adults as well.

IMG_0459.JPG

IMG_0457.JPG

After watching the bubble guy create temporary works of art, I watched another temporary work of art as the sun set on Lake Merritt.

I did my best to get a panorama of the area, but my hands were a little shaky.

IMG_0445.JPG

I chased the sun a bit to try and get the last bit of light as it hit the water.
IMG_0465.JPG

After the sunset I kept walking towards the sound of music and I was pleasantly surprised to see a drum circle and this one guy who looked like he stepped out of a comic book. Really cool style and completely original. IMG_0462.JPG

This drum circle had a lot of passion, great rhythms and a community of people that truly inspired me. What a great random walk in the park it was.

Look out for my San Francisco post coming out soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55041.56
ETH 2459.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18