An old Swedish-Finnish-Russian town

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Hi everybody!

I am happy to live in a very interesting place. It is Russia and it is so close to Europe at the same time, part of my region was Swedish and Finnish many years ago.

So I don’t even need to cross the border to travel a little.

I wanna show you Vyborg (Finnish Viipurri, Russian Cyrillic Выборг). Vyborg doesn’t look like Russia at all! (Be sure, I will show you how Russia really looks like a little later).

Vyborg just looks like this





Here is the Vyborg Castle. It was founded during The Third Swedish Crusade and fought during years between Sweden and Novgorod (Novgorod is an ancient Russian town, a very important part of our history and culture).


Inside it


The moat and shadow of the Castle


Now Vyborg is not just a historical place. You can have fun an eat tasty as well ;) I’m not going to show you my food and coffee. But look at the Knights Room at the first floor of the Castle!

You just pay about 5 US dollars and you can try on and wear all the armor and even weapon! Of course, you should be careful ))



I used to (look like Jane of Arc) have long red hair not so long ago )

Sort:  

That is soo cool. Did you buy the chain-mail?

Oh yes it was. I spent about an hour wearing it, and after that I was tired. But the most hard are first few minutes, after that you feel like you always wear it))

nice review! thanks for your pictures!

These photos remind me:

There was a queenly maiden / seated over sea,
Like her nowhere another / was ever known to be.
She was in beauty matchless, / full mickle was her might;
Her love the prize of contest, / she hurled the shaft with valiant knight.

The stone she threw far distant, / wide sprang thereafter too.
Who turned to her his fancy / with intent to woo,
Three times perforce must vanquish / the lady of high degree;
Failed he in but one trial, / forfeited his head had he.

                        The Nibelungenlied

You feel protected in chainmail ?)

I feel like I have an elephant on my shoulders!)) But yes it looks and feels really protective

in that last picture you looked like cersei from got

Wow! Thank you ))) I love GOT. Cersei is bitchy but beautiful.

Thanks for the tour and the history lesson. It is a very beautiful town.

Oh I'm so glad that you like it!

wow this place is nice,quite i really hope to go there

Oh it is very nice! And all the town is so cute and peaceful. A nice place to go for a walk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59073.90
ETH 2519.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48