My Travels! Mérida’s aerial Tramway: an adventure at 4.765 m.a.s.l.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)


Merida 1.jpg

Mérida is one of my favorite cities in Venezuela and I’ve come to know many different cool places there. But today I’m gonna talk about just one: The Aerial Tramway.
An aerial tramway is a type of aerial lift which uses stationary ropes for support while another rope provides propulsion. Passengers travels in a cabin just like in a small subway train…but they’re hanging in the air!!! Awesome, right?

The Mérida’s aerial tramway is the second largest in the world (12,5 km long) and one of the highest altitude (4.765 m.a.s.l). The system has 5 stations including the one on the ground, each one of them with two sides, one going up, one going down to the next station and the route is completed from the top to the ground; after buying the tickets you travel in the cabins with another 50 to 60 people going up from one station to the next one until you reach the highest one. Then, while you go down through the stations you have time to enjoy 30-40 minutes in each one. So that’s why I’m gonna tell you my experience in that order.

5th station Pico Espejo
The most beautiful one! This station is at 4.7965 m.a.s.l. and the view there is absolutely amazing!! Bacause of the altitude weather is cold and cloudy up there but sky can clear suddenly letting us see the Bolívar Peak or snow can fall anytime. You can almost touch the clouds with your hands! In that Station there’s an statue of a Virgin and a coffe place, but the main atraction is the view and that beautiful landscape with the peak between the clouds!


Merida 3.jpg

4th Loma Redonda
The view is still amazing in this one with a path so you can walk a little to see the glasses lagoons, named after the way they look. There’s also a really cool and pretty coffe where I had a couple cups of coffe and a carrot cake (I was kind of a hungry) wich was really yummy!

Merida 2.jpg

3rd Station La Aguada
There’s another coffe shop and an art gallery. But my favorite place in this station was the big window. I sat there and contemplated the city way down there feeling like I could float in the air!


IMG-20170224-WA0035 - copia.jpg

2nd Station La Montaña
When we get there I was kind of hungry (again) so I drank a mojito and some tequeños (a kind of mozzarella cheese steaks tipicals from Venezuela) in a restaurant named after an indigene goddess: Chia. There’s also a terrace where I sat to enjoy my meal kind of sad because it was the last stop before going back to the ground.


Merida 4.jpg

1st Station Barinitas
Here’s where we bought our tickets at first and there’s food places and art galleries and shops, so people can seat, relax, eat something and bring home some souvenirs.

When I got there I said to myself: “I gotta come back here” (I did it a few months ago). It was an incredible and extraordinary experience.


That’s what life is about: embrace the new things, new places, new people, new experiences! And never stop travelling to enjoy something new!

Until next time!

Sort:  

A good post

it's triple C! coffee & carrot cake haha I have to try this next time I get coffee haha

haha you totally have to! it was a latte and the cake had nuts and almonds in the inside!

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post was picked at random and resteemed to 5200 followers.
  • To use my resteem service send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo
  • Join my discord channel to keep resteeming more posts at a 50% discount (0.05 SBD) > Just Click Here
    Upvote this comment if you like this service.
    Reply "REMOVE" if you do not want this comment displayed on your post

This is so good dude! Maybe look into @steemitworldmap? They do a daily travel digest and would love this sort of post! Well done!

Well, thanks for the advice man! I'm gonna do that!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=cristiancaicedo
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-travels-merida-s-aerial-tramway-an-adventure-at-4-765-m-a-s-l


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67706.36
ETH 2616.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72