Viewing Chicago From 1,353 Feet UpsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel8 years ago


The Willis Tower, formerly known as the Sears Tower.

A few years ago I took a family trip to see Chicago.

We live four hours away, so it wan't a great trek across the world by any means. But the sights there were unlike anything we small-town folks are used to seeing. We couldn't leave Chicago without going to the observation deck of the Willis Tower. (I had been there as a senior in high school when it was the Sears Tower).


Posing for a photo with my wife, with Lake Michigan and the John Hancock building in the background.

Since my last visit in 2001, glass "sky boxes" were added, which allow you to step out over the edge of the building and look straight down at the ground 1,353 feet below. It was a rather unnerving feeling knowing only a pane of glass kept us from falling to our deaths!

Some of the other incredible buildings of Chicago:

John Hancock Building.

Trump Tower.

And one final look at the majestic Willis Tower.

We also paid a visit to Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History, which were great experiences. Although I only shared photos of three of Chicago's tallest buildings, the city has many more great examples of architecture on display. There is just too much to see there in one day.

Thanks for checking out my post!

Sort:  

wow amazing pic

Thank you! Not bad from a 2011-vintage smartphone!

Omg....fear of heights alert haha. Great pics!

Yeah, it definitely gave me an uncomfortable feeling in my stomach!

I bet......just had another look...... feeling brave!

I appreciate your compliment.

Great pictures! Sorry to ask tho, do you guys have any connection to Cape Town or the UK. Your partner looks very familiar. She looks like a girl I went to high school with in Cape Town. Dont worry, you can give me a yes/no answer if you dont trust this post :)

No Cape Town or UK connections, sorry.

So cool! I have heard tales of the sky viewing boxes, how unnerving and thrilling at the same time. I love seeing pictures of older cities with such a variety of architecture, thank you for sharing. Now I know where to start whenever I find myself in Chicago!

My sister arranged all the tourist stuff. She bought us Go Chicago cards, which (if my memory is correct) is a one-time charge that covers admission to all the major attractions and transportation. And I think the price was very reasonable, too, compared to paying for admission for each place separately.

Hey, that's some good information, thank you for sharing! As an adult I haven't gone on any "real" vacations, I wouldn't know where to start planning. Cool deal ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29