Sunset on Bean LakesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

I took these pictures a few summers ago on a camping trip at Bean Lake near Iatan, MO.

DSCN0526.JPG

This very shallow lake used to be the Missouri River until the current cut a new channel and the river "moved" a half-mile to the west. The lake is choked up with lily pads, but we were able to go tubing and water skiing that weekend. (See the photo below).

DSCN0527.JPG

Another fact that is really interesting to those who love history, as I do, is that the Lewis and Clark Expedition of 1804 camped along the shores of the Missouri River in this vicinity. Records indicate this area was an overnight stop, though the exact location is vague due to the changing of the river's course over the centuries.

Enjoy your weekend!

ID Photo (1).JPG

Sort:  

Love the calmness of the waters.

It was calm until it got stirred up by the boat.

I resteemed this. If you would consider resteeming any of my article, I will be grateful. Not a must.

relaxing shot

Awesome shot.

Love those sun rays

Great article and wonderful pictures.

I was trying to figure out what was in the water until I read the part about them being lily pads...

There must be a lot of frogs around for there to be so many lily pads. (It would be really cool to get a picture with frogs on the lily pads.) :D

Thanks for sharing. :D

I didn't see a lot of frogs... I think fish hide out beneath the lily pads waiting to eat any frogs.

I know the fish and stuff in our area hide when people come around whenever they can. Its probably the same there I'd think. It would be interesting to set up a video camera and film the area for a day or two to see what happens when you aren't there. :D

thanks for sharing 2 nice pics with a historical background !! :)

I like the beams of blue coming from the sun, below the horizon, in the top photo - and how that time of day, the water can look like metal. The water looks warm, with you'all tubing out there!

The whole history of Lewis and Clarke is something. It's neat that you were in an area they were in. It causes one to think about how that area was, when they were there.

I absolutely LOVE history. It's possible that their actual campsite is now under water due to the river changing course. The region was certainly more wooded back then. No gigantic power plant looming in the distance like there is now.

It's neat that you are a history buff. I bet you have some good historical reenactment events around you, for various times of history.

Mostly agricultural history around here. But the Mississippi and Missouri Rivers on each border hold a lot of early exploration history. There is also the Mormon Trail in southern Iowa that cut from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, UT.

Just the changes from prairie to agriculture would be so interesting. And connected with your big rivers, especially wetlands and the channels, and how people used those rivers. So much history!

I spent some time in Missouri and the sun sets always took my breath away. Love your style of writing. Upvoting and following. Check out my page and see if anything sticks out

Thank you, I appreciate that. I will add you to my following list, also.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85