,Overnight Stay In A CastlesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

20120720151636.jpg

So it wasn't a true European castle built in the medieval era, but it still had stone walls, a drawbridge, and a moat.

It is called Busboom Castle, located near Dewey, Illinois. My sister, @jenerallee78, got married there in the summer of 2012. It was built by a local carpenter as a private retreat for himself, and to rent out for vacations and special events.

20120720151651.jpg

The castle is situated on a shady, wooded acreage, giving it a peaceful, reclusive setting. It is a perfect place to escape the race of everyday life. We certainly enjoyed the atmosphere and uniqueness of the castle and the grounds.

20120720154342.jpg

Please forgive me for the poor quality of the photos. Remember, this was 2012 - I wasn't thinking about making a good Steemit post back then, plus I had an inferior smart phone to take photos.

That's quite a grand entertainment center and bookcase, huh?

20120720154038.jpg

Here is the entertainment center and living room, viewed from the loft above.

20120720151349.jpg

Looking over the dining table and into the living room. The floor plan was wide open and spacious.

20120720154116.jpg

View from the loft down into the dining room and kitchen.

20120720154052.jpg

There are several bedrooms upstairs, along with a huge master bathroom, of which I don't have any quality photos.

20120720154104.jpg

Here are some more built-in bookcases on the upstairs loft.

1173899_10152334963006667_260917335_n.jpg

Here I am with my nephew, @eliwasson, playing some air hockey in the game room.

I wish I had a lot more photos, and better quality ones.

But as I said, I wasn't thinking about making good Steemit posts back then. I came across these while searching my external hard drive for other photos, and decided to make a post about the castle, since it is such a charismatic and unique place. Thanks for visiting my blog, and enjoy your day! (It's almost the weekend for we the oppressed working class :)

http://www.busboomcastle.com/

ID Photo (1).JPG

Sort:  

That looks amazing! Reminds me on this amazing medieval restaurant I visited during my travels in Prague http://www.krcmabrabant.cz/index_en.php

So nice building!!! I love the castle atmosphere ^_^

Me too! I want to build a small castle some day. Along with a tiny house. And a tree house. And a log cabin.

wow that would be fun 👍

It certainly was fun. I think the location nestled in the woods was a huge part of the appeal. This place wouldn't have been nearly as fascinating if it were on a busy city street.

Nice medieval air hockey)

Air Hockey - enjoyed by knights and noblemen alike!

Game of Thrones Hockey Sticks

Nice to know places like this exist. The photos are fine.

Thanks ;)

That book shelf with the tv looks like a nightmare to keep dust free.

Tip the maid! lol

Right?? Imagine if you wanted to grab a book from the top shelf, too. I'm sure he has a ladder handy.

Yeah, that was pretty awesome! Having an actual working drawbridge was one of the coolest features of the whole thing.

What fun! With a moat, drawbridge and stone walls, that definitely counts as a castle!

It sure does! Thanks for commenting!

Wow cool! Interesting place :)

Regardless of the quality of the photos, it's still awesome to be able to stay in a castle!

Yes it is, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94