An Underwater Adventure on Grand Cayman Island

in #travel8 years ago

Five years ago while visiting Grand Cayman Island, my wife and I took the opportunity to dive down to a ship wreck.

The ship was located in water only about 30 feet deep. We tried Snuba, which is a hybrid between snorkeling and SCUBA diving. The oxygen tank floats on a small rubber raft at the surface, and sends air down a hose so we can breathe. There is no need for oxygen tanks to be strapped to the diver this way.

Our guide told us the history of the ship wreck. I don't remember all the details, but I recall it dating back to the 1920's, so it isn't really old. And I don't believe there were any lives lost.


A Tarpin swimming past us.

After our one-hour dive to the ship wreck, we decided to grab a drink at a bar.

(It was only 9:30 in the morning, but what are vacations for?)


Our cruise ship, the Navigator of the Seas rests at anchor in the background.

We wanted some time on the beach, but it was extremely crowded.

We encountered a woman who was renting out goggles and snorkels for $5 for the whole day. I was glad to pay her such a fair price. She then pointed us far down the coastline to an almost deserted beach area. She said the snorkeling was really good there since there weren't a lot of people around, and a reef extends right up to the beach.


After a long but relaxing walk, we found the reef she referred us to. You can see how far we were from our ship, which is in the upper left corner of the photo.


We got some relaxing time on the beach.


And I got some snorkeling time in this beautiful shallow reef.

By this point, I had used all 27 exposures on my disposable underwater camera. And what a shame. I got very close to some flounder, barracuda, lion fish, and other exotic tropical fish. If only I had the photos to show!

We arrived back to our ship on time, and we departed for Cozumel. I will share that experience in a later post.

Thanks for coming with me on my excursion! I figured a tropical-themed post would be nice during these frigid winter days here in the United States. Stay warm!

Sort:  

Great photos and travel story. I love cruise holidays, one day soon I hope I'll get to do a Caribbean cruise. I never heard of Snuba but it sounds like a great concept.
I think you've inspired me to do a post on the cruise we did to Papua New Guinea a couple of years ago.

Please do so! Thanks for your reply. I am now following you, so I should see it in my feed when you post it.

I did a Caribbean cruise and it was awesome. The water is ridiculously clear. The scuba diving is fantastic. I'm glad you had a good time. If I can find my underwater pics, I'll post em

Yes, please do post them!

Sounds like a fabulous vacation....I love water and beaches. Snorkelling I have never done - I think I might get claustrophobic - I panicked diving into 10 feet of water to get a ring....so I don't know.
I've been to Freeport - water a colour I can't really name....and white sand and beautiful breezes.
We are so fortunate to be able to go to these places aren't we?
Thanks for sharing your scuba pics.....loved them. I can live vicariously through others :)

After our cruise, my wife and I swore we would do one each year thereafter! How young and foolish we were. She came back from this cruise pregnant (which we had hoped for). Once the kids came, we stopped going on vacations.
I haven't seen any of your posts recently in my feed. I will check your blog! You are one of my biggest supporters here on Steemit and I appreciate that.

I went through a few days too of not seeing your posts - had to hunt you down. Thanks for your support too.....I appreciate your comments and hearing about your family and life adventures and of course seeing your photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57