An Abandoned Party SpotsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

20170721_114438.jpg

There are ghost towns in Iowa.

Talleyrand is one of them. About 15 miles from my home sits this building, the last remaining structure in this true ghost town, other than two old houses. What purpose did it serve until it was closed down? A tavern, of course. Taverns are usually the last businesses to close when a town dies off. Even the churches pack up and move years before the taverns dry up.

The tavern, simply referred to as Talleyrand, was in operation until recent years. In fact, when I was living out my wild and reckless days I went there with my friends from time to time. I recall one occasion when we arrived there so intoxicated that my friend drove right through the ditch you see in the foreground and parked in the parking lot, totally missing the entrance and completely unaware he had done it. We were young and stupid. Talleyrand was full of people like us. It was a notorious spot for bar fights that often spilled out into the parking lot. It's probably a good thing it was 15 miles away, because we didn't go there very often, in favor of closer places.

ID Photo (1).JPG

Sort:  

Hope people still visit the "ghost" town for old time sake. It must be eerie for those who used to frequent it like you!

Actually, I drive past it and think how glad I am that I grew up and don't drink and go to bars like I used to. It was a pretty shallow and useless way of life :)

Can't say I have been there.But definately done that! Surprised it's not still a watering hole! 🐓🐓

How interesting! This is the kind of place kids create ghost stories about.
I wonder why the building and land is just left abandoned like that.

There are lots of these sorts of places all over the U.S. mainly due to the housing market crash in '08 - which was preceded by the massive outsourcing of manufacturing jobs. People go broke, banks foreclose, and there is no one left to buy it. I predict it'll eventually be torn down.

Hahahaha...young and stupid!

Does not seem ghostly enough though

Sounds intriguing though

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82