Sunny ways, my friends, sunny ways.....Travelling with @countrygirlsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel8 years ago

The sun was promised to come out today and it did!!! 

After two days of rain and low clouds I finally got to see the glory of the mountains.

I took so many pictures of my travels today that I am dizzy.  I can't share them all or you might be bored to death.  You know how it is when someone wants to share family photos and they bring out the slide show. I won't do that.  I promise.

My son and I walked along the river and saw so much wildlife. In particular we watched a sea lion popping his little head up and diving back down under the water to catch fish under the watchful eye of two large bald eagles. He was being stalked by dozens of sea gulls who were obviously waiting for leftovers.  I forgot to bring my telephoto lens of course so I couldn't capture him very well with my 50mm lens.

We also noticed a small raft in the distance. This was a white water rafting craft. It's funny because I had seen a sign earlier for water rafting and noted it was on my bucket list but didn't think we could do it today, it was cold out there. So here we were at the river and there was the boat full of people.  Too late.  Maybe next visit. The background is so incredible I can hardly think of words to describe it's beauty. 

notice the little yellow raft in the background - bottom right of the river

here they are up close - would have been fun!


I am truly grateful that I get to see such beauty, not just the surrounding mountains and streams but my family whom I am visiting.

All five of my senses were engaged today, that's for sure. 

  • Sight               the amazing colours of the sky, the trees, the mountain tops, the sun and clouds
  • Hearing          the birds - puffins, bald eagles, sea lions, the river moving against the shore, the wind
  • Smell               the freshest air I have breathed in a very long time - words can't describe it
  • Touch              the feel of my newest grandson cheek against mine, my youngest son's arm around my shoulder
  • Taste                the most delicious gyro wrap this side of Canada and the best coffee - always tastes best outdoors

 

Sunny ways.....everyone!

@countrygirl

Sort:  

Thanks!!! I just saw it. Always an encouragement boost. I didn't know until you told me- thanks for watching out for me. I appreciate that!

These mountain pics are magnificent. The narrative really makes it a total experience. I feel I'm there, but I'm not, and I'm jealous :)

Thanks @johnjgeddes....I am really enjoying it here. I appreciate your comments.

So, did anyone get the allusion to Justin Trudeau, or are they just blinded by your sunny ways? LOL!!

Nah, just you :) My sunny ways?? Oh yes, I'm just little suzy sunshine....depends on who you ask. :)

Great post @countrygirl, enjoy your time with family in such majestic scenery! Beautiful captures. I have to admit, I'd be just a little nervous in a rubber raft with such chilly water ;-)

Oh....yes ... I didn't think of that but to be honest that water is freezing in August. There is a beach to the right of where the dingy is in the far away shot....no warm water to be had - probably because it's part ocean water and mountain run off.

Thanks for your kind comments @cognoscere

It sounds like a marvelous time for you and your family. Have fun!

It has been such a wonderful time here meeting my newest grandson and being able to spend time with my son. I miss him a lot so saying goodbye will be tough.

Magnificent choice of your trip, you are perceived to love nature, beautiful photographs, very good chronica of travel congratulations sir @countrygirl.
I want to thank you in heart for your support of my work. thank you very much

Aw @jlufer, always an encouraging word. Than you.

Beautiful pictures :)

Beautiful pictures, beautiful writing.

Thank you @lmar....I really appreciate that encouragement.

nice post... definitely will follow you :)

Oh wow...thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61823.88
ETH 2390.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57