I tested the capsule hotel in Zagreb

in #travel7 years ago

It wasn't planned but I had to spend a night in Zagreb. I looked for an hotel at the very last minute, and all the good ones were fully booked, or quite expensive. So I extended my search to places I wouldn't normally consider, and I found the Subspace Hostel. It's a capsule hotel, which means that instead of a room, what you get is a capsule sort of thing. One meter high, one meter wide and a bit more than 2 meters long. It was only for one night, and I was all by myself, so I decided to give it a try.

The whole thing is made of plastic. Cheap plastic. There's some kind of a dashboard on one side, for climate control and entertainment (video/radio). It is very small. I've been sleeping in cars many times, but it felt smaller as there's no window. It's also noisy as the plastic sliding door offers no sound isolation, and there's the constant humming of ventilation.

This last pic gives you a splendid view of my feet, and a bit later I found myself asking the most stupid question I've ever asked: what to do with my pants? Everywhere I've slept before that, there was a chair where I could put my pants, but inside that capsule, I slept with my pants alongside my legs. Good thing I wasn't wearing a suit.

I guess it was worth trying, but I didn't like the capsule hotel. My next time in Zagreb, which is a great place, I'll book a room much in advance, in a normal hotel. Still, that Subspace Hostel is very conveniently located, and it's quite cheap. It wasn't a bad deal.




Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76