Travel / The Indian Working Class.

in #travel7 years ago

I spent one year in India with my wife. While she taught Contemporary Dance I nosed about the crooked streets mingling and photographing the many faces such a place harvests.

Man and Child.png

Poverty is a strange circumstance to witness, as an onlooker. The faces are cheerful, jubilant and inspiring. Yet they hide a suffering that appears unfixable and only bearable at its very best.

auto driver.png

Auto drivers like this guy sit around allday in the glaring heat, in contest with a thousand others in hope of bagging the services of the upperclass.

Cycle Driver.png

Some don't even have the courtesy of an engine like this half-blind 75 year old rickshaw labourer.

Below the belt.png

This Kashmiri man risks the death penalty in Anjuna by providing quality Hashish and other Narcotics to the thousands of tourist that flock Goa's beaches.

Sahyadri Sherpa.png

This Sherpa accommodated me, and my friends Yatin and Leonard for 3 days and 3 night, cooking 3 meals a day, providing accommodation and a lifetime if tales for a measely $20 all in. Of course there was a discretionary tip that took much convincing.

Rshikesh Family.png

This family of females man the family restaurant whilst the men are in Delhi buying supplies.

Thanks for reading. I hope you enjoyed this collection of portraits. Follow and comment and I'll always reply and follow back.

Mic x

Sort:  

Excellent photos @cottonlazarus, please provide some info on your equipment and exposure data. Upvoted, resteemed, followed & DPS.

Hi Phototrail,

Most of these were shot with a Canon T5i and so.e old M42 lenses. All manual focus. Followed you back!

Impressive. I could never nail manual focus with Canon 350D and 60D with manual focusing lenses, except by chance! OK, with Canon 60D is a bit easier on the screen and if have a target for prefocus.

Most of these I had time to focus correctly but when I dont ill shoot using the scales on the old vintage glass and use my own judge of distance. Also shooting at f8 for safety!

Excellent photos, each with a concise story - I liked it a lot. I'd only suggest spending a bit more time on grammar and spelling and it'll be perfect.

Keep it up!

p.s. Resteemed, upvoted and followed you!

Thank you for the resteem. The grammer is pretty bad, have a nice day!

Those wonderful photos and your story brought me back to India

Cheers. Magical place at times :)

Very inspiring, so true about cheerfulness alongside poverty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51