Beautiful abandonded WW2 Ballroom in Berlin

in #travel7 years ago

2.jpg

Whilst visiting Berlin last March, my friend Leonard suggested we tackle one of the locations featured on AbandonedBerlin.com

We choose this WW2 era Ballroom that has falling into disrepair.

6.jpg

It was pitch black inside so I didn't know what to expect when I set my camera to shoot a 3 minutes exposure.

4.jpg

The results blew me off my feet! Still visable, the weathered paint and wallpaper peeled from the walls and curled snake-like into the darkness.

1.jpg

Simply fascinating journey back in time. Probably very dangerous so be careful if you decide to explore abandonded buildings and always wear a mask to protect from the Asbestos.

Mic x

Sort:  

Cool location! Is the building publicly accessible? Or did you sneak/climb in?

It's not public and a bitbif climbing is required. There are also security that need to be avoided. All the info to make this trip is on abandonedberlin.com website

Thanks!
Good it isn't public :)

Wow, abandoned buildings are so intriguing. Love that last photo!

Fantastic job @cottonlazarus. What was your equipment? Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

These were shot on a Canon 700d with a 10-22mm lens. I usually shoot on film but it was so dark in there.

Great location. In my area we dont' have old abandoned buildings like this. The get knocked down to build a condo or store. Sometimes they get renovated. If they make it to the historical list the owners have to maintain outside but can fix up the inside for what ever purpose they want.

Yeah. Same old sad story all over the world. I'm lycky to be from Edinburgh which is still relatively untouched.

Awesome shots! I really like abandoned buildings and Berlin is full of them. :) Looking forward for more!

Yeah Berlin is fantastic. My friend speaks about derlict Russian bunker and Airfield somewhere near Berlin. Goong to be going there soon to shoot at short :)

That would be great to see! I didn't get to spend that much time there all in all. Been there twice so far (when I actually stayed there longer). I got to see a lot of interesting abandoned places, sadly I didn't photograph all of them. Can't really remember where they were and all though... I should do a project on that.

I think you should be proud of these photos! Particularly in the last photo, it is not hard to imagine the good times, and the bad times this venue has seen.

What a shame to have it and in neglect.

Yes. I completely agree. Although there is a charm abandonded buildings inherit when they are discarded that can't exist in a looked ater and restored building. Thank you for the kind words!

Fantastic photos well done!

Congratulations @cottonlazarus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Place for fashion photography... For asbestos this is something new for me..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91