Last summer I ran around Mexico dressed as Frida Kahlo.

in #travel7 years ago

Everybody thought I was crazy wearing a costume and heavy wig in the scorching heat filming scene after scene over and over again at Mayan ruins, beaches and jungles. We were nearly kicked out of temples, eaten alive by mosquitos, chased by bats flying out of the cenotes during filming, and dealt with lip syncing problems because of loud deafening ocean waves, approaching storms and filming around crowds of people at Chichen Itza.

Brian Bales filmed the videos, took the photos and then spent weeks editing and lovingly fine tuning this video (and helped mix my recording before that!).

The song “Del Cabello Mas Sutil” is a Spanish folk song composed by Fernando Obradors (1897–1945). I learned it when I was 18 years old from my teacher Kathryn Hearden Botelho and it has always been one of my favorite pieces.

The text is simple, romantic and magical, so I decided to use elements of “Magic Realism” in this video…and sing it dressed as Frida Kahlo. Magical Realism is often used in Mexican literature (like in Laura Esquivel’s book “Like Water for Chocolate”….one of my all-time favorites!) or in Mexican folk art including that of Frida Kahlo.
Here is the text in English and Spanish, so you understand the symbolism in the video. Enjoy!

“From That Finest Hair”
From that finest hair
Which thou dost wear in braids
I would craft a chain
To draw thee to my side.
A carafe of water within thy house,
Dear maid, I'd pray I become,
Wherein I'd kiss thy mouth
As often as thou drink from it ...
Ah!
"Del Cabello Más Sutil" (Canciones clásicas españolas, no. 4)
Del cabello más sutil
Que tienes en tu trenzado
He de hacer una cadena
Para traerte a mi lado.
Una alcarraza en tu casa,
Chiquilla, quisiera ser,
Para besarte en la boca,
Cuando fueras a beber.
Ah!

Unfortunately I don't know who the accompanist is. The track was sent to me during the old MySpace days about 10 years ago. If you know who it is, let me know so I can credit the pianist. Thanks!

Sort:  

Beautiful video! For me the most beautiful scene was the one near the tree. I do not associate anything I know about Frida with those ruins, even if they are in her native country. :) But Of course you know better then me about the symbolism and ''Magic Realism'' combined here. ;)

Thank you so much for watching. I don't think there are any records of Frida visiting there (although she was very into Mexican heritage and probably did). I just wanted to dress up as her in my own version of Magic Realism.

Love the color of your voice and interpretation of song is beautiful, this will be played on repeat many times :)

Awww <3 Thank you so much. That makes me so happy that it makes you happy!

In the 2nd photo you look like you are tied to that string...ehm..vocal string! lol :P ..to the majestic mexican pyramid I dedicate

Frida the Mayan sacrifice...;-)

I missed all that while I was in the Chiapas - had Montezuma's revenge and was afraid to go on a bus trip, lol

Sorry to hear that. That sucks!

Would love to visit Chichen Itza.

Just don't wear a hot costume ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34