Life Update - Two weeks in Chiang Mai - Too busy to get anything done!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

IMG_4831.JPG

Songthaew Taxi (hop on hop off)

Two weeks and no work done (except for Dash)

So I've been here two weeks now, and every day I want to post on Steemit - not only life updates but also proper content (and read and comment on yours!!); and also I wanted to get some work done outside of Steemit, but I just don't manage! There's just so much to do here and so many nice people to meet!

The crypto scene is pretty big here - naturally amongst digital nomads - so I'm talking about Dash a lot and help people install wallets.

Untitled design.jpg

Failing at being a digital nomad so far

I have not found a balance to do a little for my own business as well, though. I'm not really a proper digital nomad, if I'm not working on my business and earning money while travelling, right? :)

But it's really hot here...
And the massages are incredibly cheap, so...

Managed not to get killed in traffic. So far so good.

Here’s the thing: there are no traffic lights for humans here. Only for cars.

The streets are wide with several lanes, and when you’re at a cross roads as a pedestrian, there’s just no time when it’s your turn. So you just have to risk your life and cross anyway.

The other day I followed an English man across the street and when we had arrived on the other side, he said, “I don’t understand that nobody gets killed here!”

Yesterday I went out with a woman who's been here for a while and she crosses the street in a very relaxed way and said, "Anja, you just have to own it!"

Okay!! So I did. I crossed the street, muttering, "I'm owning it. I'm owning it. I'm owning it." And when I arrived on the other side, with a huge sense of accomplishment and looked back, she was still pedestriating behind me (word invented by @overkillcoin) and said, "You know, if you're running, you're not really owning it!"

Okay, I still got two weeks to practice...

When I don't feel like risking my life, I hop on one of the Songthaew taxis, which is the easiest and cheapest way to get around. You just show the driver where you want to go (point on google maps on your phone if there's a language barrier) and then you hop in. It's only 20 Baht ($0.60) in the old city and 30 Baht outside of it.

My Cinderella moment

I had blood in my flip flops the other day.

I had stumbled (probably while trying to cross the street fast), and yes it hurt a bit, but I just kept on walking. When I was in the Maya shopping mall, I suddenly realized that there was blood running from my little toe. I didn't exactly leave a trail or anything, but I thought I'd stop by the first aid to have it cleaned. Adventure!!

IMG_4834.JPG

So many crypto meetups and presentations!

Every Monday, Tuesday and Thursday there's a crypto meetup here at Food4Thought and Cube 7. I have been to presentations about Giveth, the Lightning Network, decentralized exchanges and investing in ICO's.

I'm also meeting up with some other nomad girls to co-work once a week.

Untitled design crypto.jpg

Getting interviewed about crypto

The other day @suzanevolves interviewed me about crypto for her youtube channel - sadly the audio turned out really bad and with quite a delay from the video, so we can't really publish it (unless you want to skip or suffer through it here). It's a pity, I really enjoyed that interview, especially when we compared Bitcoin to Cornflakes (at 15min in).

Since we both loved it so much and really want to share it, though, we decided to do it again - this time live and with an audience, basically as a workshop. We already have more than 50 people interested. Let's see how many people show up!

Chinese New Year

I totally forgot about that, but last week was Chinese New Year. I was lucky enough to get invited to a private home for dinner. What a gift. I said Thank You with some Dash... ;) What else!

IMG_4844.JPG

Let's see what the next two weeks bring!

Around March 5 I will go to Koh Phangan for my annual Fasting & Detox Retreat. I had hoped not to do any work there, but if I continue not doing anything here, that's probably not gonna happen...

Sort:  

Glad you are steeming your trip, cant wait to get more time to write about my trip to anarchapulco and Japan.

In English? I would love to read about Anarchapulco!

The typical life of a Digital Nomad :) Too many distractions, always. We feel with you.

Oh really? Is this a thing? How do you ever get anything done? :D
But I'm glad I'm not the only one...

But to succeed and to continue you need to be disciplined, otherwise back to that office job. It's all about the balance.

I've somehow managed without that office job for the past 10 years.. Something seems to work against all odds :D

By now you could never go back. I'm gave up my office job when I was 19 ... 42 now .. haha. I think I would instantly get a stroke stepping foot into an office again.

Yes! And imagine only 4 weeks of holidays or so per year...

Here’s the thing: there are no traffic lights for humans here. Only for cars.

Welcome to the "majority part" of the World XD!!

Two weeks and no work done (except for Dash)

Enjoy your vacations! ... "digital nomad" can wait one week more of cheap massage and do not doing anything ;) :P

Yeah.. I just have to cut myself even more slack... XD

good post..thanks for sharing..dear..

Nice post
Please help vote and flbck me

I guess when he said "flbck" he meant to spell "flag".

You remembered "pedestriating" — Nice!☺

You've been far too hectic, hope things simmer down...

It’s a good word! Should be in the dictionary. With your picture next to it. In pencil sharpener form of course. Yesss - have you made an isometric selfie yet?

Drawing myself? That would break the camera! Or the screen/software... ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82