Come to this café when you're in Chiang Mai! (You may also meet some Hodlers here :))

in #travel7 years ago

IMG_4900.JPG

Welcome to Clay Studio Café in Chiang Mai

When I came to Chiang Mai - actually even before that - I started browsing through Facebook groups and noted down any café recommendations I could find. After all, I came here to work and I just wanted to take my laptop somewhere nice, with healthy food and get stuff done.

IMG_4892.JPG

Of course everything came differently. I've been here for 1.5 weeks now and all I've accomplished workwise, was uploading one image to my website... Seriously. But it's because I keep meeting nice people to hang out with, which of course is very welcomed, too!

IMG_4898.JPG

This café however, was not on any list of recommendations, and I found it totally by coincidence.

It's also a little hidden, behind a wall that you would normally just walk past, thinking there's one of the 300 temples behind it (that's how many temples there are in Chiang Mai's old city).

IMG_4901.JPG

At first I was wondering why they call this place Clay Studio - it sounds more like a gallery or art workshop. But then I noticed all these leftover pieces they've used as decoration here. So I guess it is attached to a clay workshop somewhere.

IMG_4895.JPG

IMG_4894.JPG

The tables are nicely placed in between all the decoration, so you have some privacy and some shadow to sit and work or have a nice conversation.

IMG_4893.JPG

IMG_4890.JPG

When you order food, they give you a nice little vase of flowers with your table number, so they waiters can find you.

IMG_4889.JPG

I've had muesli and matcha latte every morning here, pretending to be healthy... (after splurging on banana & chocolate pancakes in the evenings before... Thank God I'm going to go fasting in two weeks!)

IMG_4902.JPG

Sometimes you do overhear a conversation, depending how loud people are speaking. Today I found myself overhearing a conversation of two women in their seventies. One was explaining Bitcoin to the other and said that she's a Hodler. That made me laugh!

But also I was thinking about how we all think that women are lacking in the cryptospace, and I'm beginning to wonder if that's really true, or if we just all chose to fly below the radar. In any case, it makes me really happy when I see that women are taking care of their financial future.

IMG_4905.JPG

The Clay Studio Café is located in the south western part of Chiang Mai's old city.

You can easily combine your visit with a Tok Sen massage at the Wat Pan Whaen temple, which is only 300m away. I treated myself to a 2-hour massage there (just 400 Thai Baht).

Screen Shot 2018-02-19 at 13.25.46.png

Have you been to Chiang Mai?

If you have any tips for good cafés to work from, please let me know!

Otherwise I hope you'll enjoy visiting this café if you ever come here.

IMG_4899.JPG


!steemitworldmap 18.7814189 lat 98.9863313,17 long Clay Studio Café, Chaing Mai, Thailand D3SCR!


Sort:  

Literally was planning on going to this cafe this weekend. Thought about going today...but I've been to the old city every day for the past 4 days and I don't feel like doing it again lol.

By the way, if anyone doesn't know the conversion rate, 400 baht is just a little over $10 USD. So, a great deal for a 2 hour massage :)

And now we're sitting next to each other :D

Thanks for converting the Thai Baht! :)

Wow it's amazing cafes. Can you please tell me where is Chiang Mai?

Hey @atiqur! It's in Northern Thailand! I'm here in Chiang Mai too :)

Wow great. 😊😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83