Hearts Cafe - Ollantaytambo, Peru

in #travel6 years ago

image.png

Hearts Cafe is a quaint cafe located on Avenida Ventiderio in Ollantaytambo, Peru. The restaurant is located at the crossroads to the train station and the road that leads from Plaza del Armas to the Ollantaytambo Temple Hill. Hearts Cafe is more than just a local coffee shop, it is also an NGO whose mission is to support the local community, primarily through nutrition.

My wife and I popped in to Hearts Cafe for a light meal. We weren't in the mood for a full meal, so we opted for coffee and scones. I ordered the mocha, which came in a tall clear glass. The thick chocolate was visibly clinging to the interior of the glass. After a quick stir, I tasted what may have been the best cup of coffee during my entire stay in Peru. The cappuccino from El Albergue was very close. My wife had the hot chocolate, which was equally rich. The scones were somewhat plain, which is to be expected. They had a nice, light texture. The scones were served with jam and cream, which added all the flavor that the scones themselves lacked (I prefer cinnamon scones).

image.png

The food and drink at Hearts Cafe was excellent, with surprisingly affordable prices. All of the profits from Hearts Cafe go to the NGO Living Hearts. The restaurant has a website at Hearts Cafe. When I compared the cost of drinks at Hearts Cafe to nearby shops, the prices were modestly cheaper. This surprised me, since the cafe is in the business of raising money for charitable causes. So you get a double-bonus here. Inexpensive prices, with the profits helping the local community.

The menu at Hearts Cafe listed a wide range of selections that included a blend of different cooking styles. While we opted for a light snack, the menu had some attractive options that included salads, soups, hamburgers and some international flavors. The menu catered to a variety of palates to include vegetarian dishes. The drink menu offered several types of coffee and fresh lemonade that was very tempting. I would have tried the lemonade if I hadn't chosen the mocha. The list of English tea and herbal infusions was also appealing. The menu includes a variety of breakfast items and includes box lunches for tourists heading to Machu Picchu. It is a good idea to pack a meal if you are heading to Machu Picchu. The options once you arrive are very limited and prohibitively expensive.

image.png

The atmosphere inside Hearts Cafe is cozy. The restaurant has tables outside the front entrance. It was windy during our visit, so we opted for a table upstairs. There are few tables on the first floor and two rooms on the second floor overlooking the street below. The restaurant seemed to be the spot for young people from the nearby hostal. That may have been a combination of pricing and free wi-fi. I used the wi-fi to check email on my iPhone and found that it was adequate for my light purposes. The people on laptops did not appear frustrated at the speeds, so it must have been a decent connection.

Hearts Cafe is open every day from 7:00 AM until 9:30 PM except Christmas Eve and Christmas. The restaurant also takes a two-week break during February (which corresponds with the time that Machu Picchu is closed). They can be contacted at 00 51 084 436730 (International) or 51 96 0472708 (cell). They also accept donations at the restaurant or through the living hearts website.

image.png

The only thing better than a good meal is a sense that you have done something good for the local community. Hearts Cafe does both. Rated purely as a restaurant, the pleasant atmosphere, great service and excellent food made this my third favorite dining experience in Ollantaytambo. That is saying a lot alongside El Albergue and Puka Rumi. In fact, my rating between Hearts Cafe and Puka Rumi are very close. I might even say they are tied for second. If I were to weight my rating by the charitable work of Hearts Cafe, it would push them into second. But my rating is purely on the dining experience. There are plenty of restaurants in Ollantaytambo, but if you want exceptional coffee and a sense of community service, visiting Hearts Cafe is a must.

Some of my photos from Peru were inadvertently deleted. My visit to Hearts Cafe was among them. The photos in this post are taken from the Hearts Cafe website and accurately represent my recollection of my visit.

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=coldsteem
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=hearts-cafe-ollantaytambo-peru


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

carnival on a plate and good coffee, sounds good to me.

You probably already mentioned it in one of your blogs, but how long have you been in Peru?

This was from a trip I took a couple years ago. I spent just over a week there.

Thanks @coldsteem , I am reliving my experiences through your blogs :)
I ate at hearts twice. What amazed me there, was their juices. Almost a meal in themselves, I haven't had a fruit juice quite like it anywhere in the world :) I hear you re: Machu Pichu ^^ in addition to the extortionist prices there for food, is the lines and thus wait, to get anything. I likewise planned ahead, and bought lunch to go at Aguas Calientes.
Peace.

Nice one @coldsteem for promoting this Cafe. It should be on my list of place to visit in South America.

This place is great. I ate here.

What are the odds? That is awesome.

I'd say pretty high if you're in Ollantaytambo. 😁

Good point...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by coldsteem from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Greek food is something different That I enjoy! lamb gyros.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45