Din Tai Fung Soup Dumplings - Shanghai, China

in #travel7 years ago

image.png

Xiaolongbao is street food. It is more commonly known as a soup dumpling. This popular treat comes in many styles. My preference is for a dive chain, which I will talk more about in a later post. My first experience with soup dumplings in China was at one of the most popular destinations for this treat, Din Tai Fung.

Din Tai Fung would be considered "upscale" compared to your average xiaolongbao restaurant. Located in a mall in the tourist section of Shanghai, the restaurant generally has a waiting list. We waited. We waited for overpriced dumplings that were genuinely good. Just not as good as the street food version I prefer. Grant it, the skins on these dumplings were thin, which gave them a great texture. They were so thin, that they were subject to tearing when lifted by chopsticks.

dintaifung2.jpg

I think we waited about twenty minutes before the restaurant could seat our party of six. We shared a couple of pots of tea (if I remember correctly, we had more than one option for tea, so we tried a couple). We came for the Xiaolongbao, but we did try a couple of appetizers. The dumplings are served with fresh ginger. Customers add soy sauce and vinegar to make their own dipping sauce. The thing that shocked me most was the price. Yes, this is located in a mall in a tourist area, I get that. But these dumplings ran about a dollar each. That was for the pork dumplings, which I prefer anyway. The crab version was significantly more. We sampled quite a few different styles between us. When the bill came for over one hundred dollars, I have to admit that I was a bit surprised, considering we didn't have any alcohol with our meals.

dumplings (2).jpg

One secret about Din Tai Fung...they are not a Shanghai restaurant. The restaurant is actually part of a Taiwanese chain that includes locations on the west coast of the United States. I am okay with chain food. If it's good. I would say that these dumplings were good, but way overpriced. Later, I will post about Yang's Dumplings which is a popular chain in Shanghai. As a point of comparison, Yang's served incredible, delicious xiaolongbao at a price of just over one dollar for an order of four. That less than a third the price you will pay at Din Tai Fung. Yes, it is a different dining experience, but if you are going for the dumplings and not the atmosphere, Yang's would be my recommendation. I don't think you will be disappointed with Din Tai Fung. The food is really good. It is just pricey.

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=coldsteem
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=din-tai-fung-soup-dumplings-shanghai-china


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

@coldsteem, I am going to rely heavily on you to guide me in the world of delicious foreign fare. I can offer some insight into Italy, but that's about it. So when you start throwing around "dumplings with great texture" and "served with fresh ginger" please expect and excuse my puddles of drool over your posts. I am going to set up about 18 different alerts for your review of Yang's Dumplings. Looking forward to it!

Nice. Give me a couple days. I will get there. lol.

Are these soup dumplings the kind with the soup actually inside the pasta?

Yes! You can kind of slurp the soup out and then pop it in your mouth and eat it.

Din Tai Fung is very overrated, that's for sure!

Yang's sounds a place I would love to try great post

Very interesting post! Whilst Din Tai Fung maybe a chain and overpriced, I'm sure the dumplings are better than anything I've tasted in the states? Apart from maybe when I visited China Town in San Francisco, but I'm not sure as I've never been to China :) One day perhaps.

They do look delicious though, however I'm curious as to why you didn't go and eat the street version instead?

Lol. I DID eat the street version. Stay tuned for my glowing report in the coming days. We ate here because we were already here at dinner time. No street food in this part of town.

And yes. They were tasty. Better than the dimsum I have had in the US. Although I did have some decent xiaolongbao in Washington DC last year.

"Lol. I DID eat the street version. Stay tuned for my glowing report in the coming days."

Brilliant! Looking forward to reading about it :)

Yes, we have Din Tai Fung here in Malaysia too...
Boy, It's 2am now, normally I am asleep at this time, it's because I just finished my post, so I am still awake... And being awake at this time, makes me super hungry... If I can have some xiaolongbao right now, wouldn't it be awesome...!!!???... Oh... the warm soup within the dumplings... OK, enough imagining... it's getting me hungrier... !!!
And by the way, since you are posting about food, you may consider to use this #dailyfoodphotography tag by @howtostartablog.

Doh. Sorry, Eliza. Just saw this post. I will try and remember that tag for future posts. I do talk about food...does beer count?

I think yes. There's another tag specially for beer, by @detlev, beersaturday

Lol...yeah...I had him in mind already. I am going to brew some beer on Saturday or Sunday. I thought I might take some photos and videos and make a Making Beer 101 post.

Wow! Cool! Although I don't really drink beer, but I am looking forward to your Making Beer 101 post...

This post has received a 4.83% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @coldsteem. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62339.62
ETH 2444.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62