[JEJU for a month] Day4, Cafes in Jeju Island

in #travel6 years ago

blog_hyuksnote_jeju_day4_3.jpg

I had been traveling around Jeju for three days, and couldn't start writing my essay which I have planned. So the fourth day, I decided to take a rest at some cafes.

blog_hyuksnote_jeju_day4_4.jpg

In the morning, I went to Poongrim-Dabang('dabang' is an old word, means Korean old cafe). It was one of the three most famous cafes in Jeju Island.

blog_hyuksnote_jeju_day4_8.jpg

The signature drink there was 'Poongrim Breve(Cold cream on hot coffee)', but I just orderd cold Dutch coffee because I was thirsty. I could realize the fame of the small cafe because people visited there constantly.

blog_hyuksnote_jeju_day4_9.jpg

No matter how many people there were, I sat by the window and kept my writing and photographs organized for a while. At lunch time, the cafe became a break time, and I left.


blog_hyuksnote_jeju_day4_5.jpg

I got hungry. I went to eat local food which is mixed by octopus and meat sauce. It was kind of Bibimbam, traditional Korean food. And there is one more thing that is memorable. The restaurant was set up by the restaurant owner for his dead mother. She was a woman diver who had been harvesting seafood from Jeju Island for generations.

blog_hyuksnote_jeju_day4_2.jpg

The second cafe of the day was a beach cafe in Woljeong-ri, Jeju's most famous beach.

blog_hyuksnote_jeju_day4_3.jpg

Although South Korea is surrounded by sea on three sides, seas are similar because it is such a small land. But Jeju is very special. You can see a various sea colors there. The sea in Woljeong-ri had a very clear mint color, emerald color.

blog_hyuksnote_jeju_day4_12.jpg

I sat in a cafe overlooking the sea for a long time again. I drank coffee in a leisurely way, and wrote essay, even fell asleep. The sun went down before long.

On way back to my lodging, I even picked up three hitchhikers. They were Chinese female college students who were traveling Jeju. It was windy and they were standing on the road, so I couldn't turn my back.

They thanked me very much, and I could finish the day with a good heart.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61272.24
ETH 3371.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46