Hiking the Oregon Coast, in pictures

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Here are a few pictures from my hike along the Oregon Coast Trail. Just wanted to share some of the awesome experiences I had walking from the Columbia River, Oregon's border with Washington state, to the border of California... and back again.

The Oregon Coast Trail is 382 miles, but can be as much as 425 miles long if no ferries are used to cross any of the bays.

39% of that is on the beach, 41% on paved road, usually Route 101, 20% on trail or dirt roads.

It is an inexpensive and beautiful hike.

Thankfully, because of the Oregon Beach Bill passed in 1967, which works to a thru hikers advantage, the public has "free and uninterrupted use of the beaches."

I'm still currently living out of my backpack, I have been for over a year. After hiking most of the west coast, including parts of the Pacific Crest Trail, all of the San Diego Trans County Trail, through the Redwoods and Las Vegas I am back in Oregon.

But maybe I'll head to Thailand for the winter if I play my cards right.

Do yourself a favor and get out of the house more. #GetOutside

Sort:  

We need more of good content like this on steemit! :) Good luck, keep on the good work :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 69047.36
ETH 3739.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66