I Smoked the Egyptian Hookah with this Lovely Gentleman in Luxor Egypt

in #travel5 years ago

I really so much enjoy experiencing strange things for the first time (and usually thereafter). I was in Luxor, Egypt in 1997, scouting out the local Luxor and Karnak Temples as well as the surrounding Valley of the King & Queens, Dendera, etc…..

CMD E Hooka Man Resized.jpg

I liked very much to walk around and visit the local bazaars; I saw heads of goats for sale on makeshift tables of scrap wood; I attempted to sup native Okra soup; I ate lots of very delicious rotisserie chicken, and drank Egyptian beer on rooftops - I experienced many wonderful things.

One day I was very thirsty and in need of a smoke. I stopped into the local funky Tea and Smoke House where all the locals hung out - it was indeed like stepping back into time. I loved it. I felt very relaxed as I sat around a table with the indigenous crowd of Men and sipped Egyptian Tea. There was this big Hookah sitting in the very center of the table, it had a very long hose on it. Each Gentleman took a hit and passed it on to the next in the circle; it was my turn, I took my hit…..I didn’t know how to smoke it at all….I never had authentic blends of what ever that was I smoked in that Hookah, and I did not quite understand the words they spoke to explain it to me. What ever it was, it was very nice and soothing to Hookah out to along with others and drink Tea. I call that a great ‘Cultural Exchange’…..

CMD E Luxor STEEM Reduced.jpg

I thought this man was so handsome and masculine. He did remind me of the guard at Luxor Temple with his Turban and long Egyptian Cotton Gown. I showed him my camera and gestured asking if I could take his photograph, he agreed. I got a few shots of him, this one turned out very nice I think.

These photographs are from 1997 film prints. I scanned them, then I worked on them with a digital graphic arts program and turned them into what you see now. I think they would make lovely framed prints….. Cheers, Colette

Sort:  

Wow its like i go also to that time. Nice photos.

Btw im recommending your post to @zephalexia up-gage contest.

@tazky

Posted using Partiko Android

the place looks historic.. nice photos, thanks for sharing to us

Your post has been recommended by @tazky for my up-gage challenge

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello there. Thank you. The photos were in color, I tweaked them......I think it adds to their overall beauty and makes a better statement. Some photos I leave in color and do nothing, but others I do like to make artsy fartsy pics out of them. Thank for entering me into the contest. I'm new here and don't understand much at all. Cheers, Colette

buen trabajo.

Congratulations @circulartimes! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.
You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Fascinating place i'd love to go one day. I always found when travelling these moments in the local places of the tourist track are the most inspirational and memorable 💯🐒

@circulartimes, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

hehehee well... you're wild :)

This was a highly entertaining post! hahahaha and the photo on top is really lovely. I love how you captured the mood there... I feel like I'm sitting across from him! hehehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.27
ETH 2912.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40