Addicted to Travel—Is It Time For Your Next Trip? ( A Sad Story) and DROMOMANIA

in #travel7 years ago

photo6057378088095950870.jpg

Booking.com keeps harassing me asking me to go travel again.

Unfortunately, I suppose to travel on 12 November but I had to burn my ticket due to unforeseen circumstances. In between moving house and house renovation, I had to pass on this coming vacation-- a bit sad but it is my decision as I decided to prioritize for this matter.

House renovation plus moving house can take a toll on the pocket and energy. In this modern age, I can just pay people to do it for me but it came with a huge cost.

Supposedly I go to Boracay as my birthday trip.. I guess I just enjoy the beach feeling by watching youtube now. They said it's more fun in Phillippines, is it true?


Source: Hotel Blue Down

My travel partner said we need to go to vacation every 2 months to clear our head, it is due this month so I guess our heads won't be clear this month haha.

What vacation can do to you is the same feeling like taking drug I guess-- it's addictive. You know that a lot of people have it that they have a name for it. Dromomania


Source

However, dromomania is more extreme than my situation. It has not come to change identities and occupations and such.

Dromomania, also travelling fugue, is an uncontrollable psychological urge to wander. People with this condition spontaneously depart from their routine, travel long distances and take up different identities and occupations.
Source: Wiki

Can we become addictive to travel?

I think to those who feel addicted like me, travel makes us happy. Can I just say that to me, travel temporarily separate the reality of this harsh life to somewhere in my dream that gives me the ability to worry less about life. Sounds pathetic right? But the ability to travel with financial freedom would be my ultimate target in life.

How Addicted am I to Travel?

For fun, I'm documenting why I think I'm addicted to travel

  • I had multisize pieces of luggages and bags (rucksack)
  • I'm getting good at packing
  • My annual leaves at work it fully utilized
  • I claim every possible points for airline companies
  • I have next year's calendar printed already
  • My life is about finding cheap tickets or browsing travel instagrammers
  • I had to take 'unpaid leave' for my travel (deducted from salary)

I have a lot of this points actually, but I am just to messed up because of my postponed travel LOL

Check out what else I blogged about ok!

Jen.

Sort:  

Moving house and renovation can be stressful too... The cleaning up and unpacking part...

It is true Eliza! I’m draining! Not only that, the organizing of contractors, utilities providers, movers, furnitures and all... haihhh I don’t have time to blog anymore.

Use steepshot to keep the flow... After all these, off you go for a good vacation... :)

U read my mind! hehe

You already said the cure for dromomania is travel and more travel.

fun post! indeed try travel as much as we can, dromomania can finally tell my friends which medicine i need

Lol. We know what is the medicine for dromomania. More travel! Haha

it's bad you get to cancel but I totally understand ur priority , I would do the same. Boracay can wait! hehe..:)

You got that right! . Revenge is later...... maybe back to back travel hehehehe..

You've posted a lot of beautiful ones.
I liked your post.

Please upvote and comment in my post. And I will replay my comment.

Hmn expensive addiction.

errrr... some boys collects toys or bicycle.....expensive too.... hehehhe

U collect travel memories...can write a book nxt time

Congratulations @cikxaijen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 33.0% @tayyabhussain upgoat, thanks to @cikxaijen
It consists of $1.83 vote and $0.61 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cikxaijen to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.29
ETH 2637.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52