Deported! Leaving Mexico the hard way: Part 3

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

0515171944a.jpg

Parts 0 1 2

They served breakfast around 8:30. Black beans and rice. It's not so bad, I thought. I've eaten beans and rice many times not by compulsion, and black beans do tend to be some of the tastiest legumes. The Indians cut the line as if they'd been doing it their entire lives. They knew all the tricks - going up to talk to their friends, then squeezing in. Waiting by the door then walking casually into the mess hall. Or just saying "I'm hungry," as if that somehow gave them a status the rest of us didn't have. But what the hell, we would all get fed eventually. So, I tolerated it.

In the afternoon, they called my 'name': "Australia! Australia!" I'm not sure if it's deliberate or just a happy accident, but suddenly I was no longer an individual, but they would only refer to me by my nationality. I didn't mind it, but there was a subtle element of dehumanisation.

Posting the status on Facebook while in the van was probably the smartest thing I did, and also, having a friend as ferociously vociferous as Gela. As soon as Gela had found Wifi, she was posting on social media trying to find a solution. On the phone was Aldona from the consulate, and she told me that people had been making blog posts and sending emails to them, letting them know that I'd been detained and asking them what they could do about the situation. I chuckled. Aldona seemed a little puzzled at the whole thing, wondering why I would be getting this kind of attention.

Reflecting on it later, I'd think of the first time I took ayahuasca, and how the medicine had to try so hard to get through to me, to deliver the important message: when people care about you, that's no small thing. From a certain perspective, our life on Earth is just the result of random chance, molecules bumping into each other in a soulless, loveless, infinite space. If such an environment were to give birth to a thought - a thought of another being, a wish that the being would be well, caring about its welfare... that would be a huge miracle. And every time it happened, every instance would be a little miracle. That's why, when I think about it, I come to tears. I am so grateful that people take the effort to think of me, to hope that I have good things. It's no exaggeration to say: that is a divine gift.

Later in the day they took me to see the legal clerk, who got me to sign a few documents saying I'd received breakfast and lunch. She got me to resign a document confirming my rights and obligations, and emphasised that I had all the time I wanted to read it carefully and understand it - in reaction to my previous signing under duress. She asked me how long I'd been in Mexico and how I'd entered. I didn't want to answer, thinking maybe I could convince them that I'd lost my tourist card when entering from Guatemala. Eventually I decided it was a lost cause, and told the truth.

She asked if I'd like to stay in Mexico, or go back to Australia. I struggled to get the words out. I said I'd prefer to stay in Mexico.

Over those three years, I'd made Mexico my home. The Mexican hospitality, the corner taco stands, the abarrotes that stay open late, the toot of the candied sweet potato cart, the 1 a.m. mariachi serenades waking up all the neighbours that nobody would dare complain about - lest people think they lacked sentiment, the chaotic markets, the mountains, the beaches, the hot springs, the cenotes, the pyramids, and all the other wonders which I'd yet to see... the restless spectres that came to visit me in the night, and the spirit guides. I wonder if I could have put my heart on that desk, open it up, and show all the pieces of Mexico that had found their way in there, if the clerk would have still the gall to say I had to leave. Of course she would. She was a bureaucrat, and to them, it always comes down to the process, and the papers. My passion was meaningless. I didn't have the papers, and therefore I had to leave.

To be continued...

Sort:  

This series was one of the most heartfelt posts about your experiences I have read. It also provided plenty of details on what happened to you.

It appears you really loved Mexico. I hope you are able to go back one day, but I am grateful that you ended up okay.

I am so happy I met you in person in Mexico and we were able to share rooms. I really wish we could have spent more time and got to know each other on a deeper level. You have an amazing soul. Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you.

Much love, brother.

Upvoted and resteemed.

Thanks Sterlin, I have a lot of love for you as well. I love what you do. I expect our paths will cross again soon enough.

Probably you should have said: Please don't let me stay in Mexico, I have been for ever trying to get out this damn place, but I could not find the exit. Australia is so much better. Clerks are very oppositional. They want to punish you, but they just don't know what your preferences are. Once they know, they force the opposite.

Haha. I don't think it was that simple. Maybe I'll try that if I'm in that situation again.

What a sad story, am very sad that you have to leave Mexico due to lack of papers. Do not worry, i believe that everything will be right soon. And keep this in mind " Keep going... Difficult roads often lead to beautiful destinations".

Thanks, I think you're right. We'll see where the road leads when we get there.

I upvoted this and also resteemed!

Much appreciated!

You should wright a book about your experience or at least article and send at some newspaper. Because your story make people look at this situation different...

Thanks. Maybe when I finish the whole series I'll see if I can send it to a magazine or something.

nice narratives...keep it up...waiting for next episode...

love your story , anxiously waiting for part 4...keep it coming

Thank you, I'm glad you're enjoying it.

Hey there @churdtzu! This is @msg768's bot. My Maker has commanded me to cast lots every now and then, and upvote and tip random authors on steemit. The latest lot I cast fell to you, so I just upvoted you and also sent you a tip! God bless and have a wonderful day/night! :]

upvoted, thanks for what you are doing ☺

Interesting story. Excited to read the next parcel of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62904.98
ETH 3359.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46