A Flight & Lunch at Kalapawai Cafe & Deli

in #travel6 years ago

Kapolei. The second city of Oahu & my new home. I like Kapolei because it reminds me, in so many ways, of San Antonio.

It's not as big or as happening as its older brothers (Honolulu, Waikiki/Houston, Austin) but that's almost the best part about it. Both of these cities have a homey feel. And just like in San Antonio, people are starting to see the beauty in that and they're developing the city a great deal. A new mall, a new hotel, and great little delis and coffee shops. One such place is Kalapawai Deli & Cafe. The Kailua flagship is the OG but Kalapawai is doing quite well for itself here in Kapolei from what I can tell.

I took a bike ride over to the cafe for lunch on a windy Sunday afternoon and I can tell you with no uncertainty, this won't be the last time I do so.

I knew Kalapawai had a great coffee bar and cold pressed juices (get the Lilikoi!) because I've stopped in a few of times before catching my bus into town. The restaurant sits right behind the bus stop and right on Kapolei Parkway (excellent location for those not in the area). What I hadn't tried was the bar or t lunch/dinner menu.

I was not disappointed. I originally thought Kalapawai was going to be more coffee shop/work spot than bar (a la San Antonio's Rosella) but on a Sunday afternoon in the fall, this was not the case. The entirety of the restaurant was there with football jerseys on and already 3 drinks deep seated at the outdoor bar. A sight for sore eyes.

I ordered up a flight and joined the party. A pleasantly surprising $10 flight! Cheap drinks are good drinks. Kalapawai has a pretty nice little selection of local craft beers on tap. I decided to mix it up and give myself a little variety: (from left to right in picture below) Lost Coast Brewing's Great White, Maui Brew Co.'s Bikini Blonde, Waikiki Brewing's Skinny Jeans IPA & Honolulu Beerworks' South Shore Stout.

kalapawai-1.jpg

Lost Coast's Great White (ABV 4.8% IBU 15) was first up and nothing to scream about. It's actually from California so, not exactly local but I had already had the other options and wanted to keep the flight balanced. To be fair to the Great White, I'm not a huge fan of Belgian Whites to begin with. It's a "just fine" beer but if I'm making recommendations, this one doesn't make the list.

Next up was the Maui Brew Co's Bikini Blonde (ABV 5.2% IBU 18) . Again, not a superfan of blondes -they tend to be a little lacking for me. Pleasantly surprised by the Bikini Blonde though. Refreshing and smooth but still packs a little flavor punch. Really easy drinking and one I could stay with for a couple rounds.

Finally got to Waikiki Brewing's Skinny Jeans IPA (ABV 6% IBU 56). If you're into the citrusy IPA, drink this. I really enjoyed the flavors in this beer with a IBU of 56 there was more than enough bite and the juicy citrus flavors really stood out for me. I went to Untappd to find out why it was called Skinny Jeans and the description was too good not to share.

"Back before the “juicy” New England style IPAs were blowing up on Instagram, there was a very hip style of IPA – the West Coast IPA. Very highly attenuated and light on malt, these beers were hopbursting before it was cool. You probably wouldn’t have known about the hops, HBC 369 cv, and YCR 14 cv, they were pretty obscure at the time. Once they became mainstream they were called Mosaic and Simcoe and were much loved for their respective tropical/blueberry/rose blossom and dank/piney/resinous aromatics. This beer wears skinny jeans and jackets in the summer… you know – before its cool. "

Skinny Jeans IPA is not a regular beer, it's a cool beer. Solid drink.

Last but certainly not least was the Honolulu Beerworks South Shore Stout (ABV 6.6% IBU 52). Anyone who knows me knows that I love love love me a good stout/porter. It's my favorite style and Honolulu Beerworks did not disappoint. Chocolately and boozy at 6.6% ABV with a nice little bite too. Definitely my favorite of the flight, take that with a grain of salt because I'm so totally and completely biased with stouts. I'll work on expanding my beer horizons but don't expect me to walk away from a good stout -especially in December.

So that was the beer. The food? Also solid. I ordered up da'Skinny, a Kalua Pig version of your standard pulled pork sandwhich. Amazing toasted brioche bun with a side of mac salad? Yes please. The food was a little on the pricey side ($13 for the meal) but I'm willing to pay for high quality. Kalapawai also has a proper dinner menu which looks amazing. I'll be back for a nice dinner and glass of wine in the near future.

kalapawai2-1.jpg

Important to mention: Kalapawai also does growler fills and sells specialty brews in 22oz. bottles. I'll be back to pick up Lanikai Brewing's Hibiscus Saison & Big Island Brewhaus' White Mountain Porter very soon.

Thanks for stoppin' by!

Chrissy

Sort:  

Looks like a good time! The beer sounds good, too. It certainly looked good from the photo! That burger-thing looks amazing...

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 62166.63
ETH 3021.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72