Crossing the Sahara

in #travel6 years ago

Hey guys!

Today I´d like to share with you one of my travel experiences and memories that I could gather when I did a trip starting in the north of Spain in Bilbao going down to Senegal by using cars, busses, ships and hitchhiking.

So even if I´m not that crazy about making photos and stuff there are definitly some stunning landscapes and scenerys that I was luckily able to collect. Some of the most impressive ones are for sure from the sahara crossing which wasn´t the most comportable and easy section to pass by.

DSCN0608.JPG

We ended up being 6 guys squeezed together in a "taxi collective" which was heading to Nouakchot, leaving from somewhere in the Western Saha.

DSCN0610.JPG

So as time passes by a little different if it´s at least 45 degrees without any cloud for days at the sky and squeezed together with some dodgy Western-Saharians and Mauretanians that could not speak French or English and just listening to koran phrases via radio all the time, I can not tell you how long the ride took. I´ll guess about 14 hours, as we started in the dark and arrived at the dark (in Noaukchot where I was supposed to meet my couchsurfing host which turned out to be a little bit more tricky than I first expected but you´ll get to know more about htat later ;)).

DSCN0613.JPG

So for today it´s a first impression of this exciting trip that I am happy to share with you. Within the next days there gonna be some more! ;)

So enjoy, stay tuned and take care!

Sort:  

travel far and good !

This is awesome! It must have been scorching in the Sahara, or maybe bitterly cold once evening struck. I actually never considered crossing a desert for one of my travels, this is quite an idea.

I'm definitely interested to hear more about your adventure! What else did you do after your 14-hour ride?

hey cruziana! i´m happy to hear that you like the story and idea! actually it was cooling down a fair bit but still was a decent heat during the night^^
after i finnished my ride and arrived in Nouakchot I met up with my couchsurfing host and spüend some days discovering this crazy city ... but you´ll get to know more soon ;)

Wow, sounds great already! I'll definitely look forward to more of it!

Wow, sounds great already! I'll definitely look forward to more of it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68362.67
ETH 3798.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49