Travel Story #3; Croyde, England, A Beautiful Place With A Rich History Of Surfing! By chrisadventures

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Sarah Whiteley is the founder of surf school Walking on Waves in Saunton, South England, since 2003.

"My mother was one of the first female surfers in the province of Devon. I have been surfing in England for a very very long time! I have participated in many surf competitions worldwide but now I'm a surf instructor. Surfing has become more popular in England. More and more unexperienced surfers are in these waters nowadays. More people want to learn how to surf or just come over for one lesson. During the summers, more families come around, while during the winters, more experienced surfers come have a lesson." (Sarah Whiteley)

I interviewed Sarah for over two hours during my Field Research in Croyde, a small surfer's town in South England. People were quite suprised when they heard my stories by the time I came back home from my Field Research about surfing in South England. And so was I! Before this research, I knew very little about the actual existence of surfing in England. Last June, my university in the Netherlands sent me and fifty other students to England to individually induct a field research on any topic we believed to be relevant in the area we were assigned to go. My topic wasn't quite the worst.. SURFING!

My host family had picked me up and we drove around the cliffs as we arrived in Croyde... 

 View on Croyde Beach from the Surfer's Lodge (northern hill side of Croyde) 

Pictures of the tropical garden of my host family 

Magazine The Point

Mark King is a surfer, director and photographer of the Point, a surf magazine in the region. Mark has been living in Devon for years. He has surfed all around the world. He told me alot about the history of surfing in Croyde and he had interviewed and photographed many surfers of back in the days. He gave me three of his magazines: the Point. Check out his pictures here

Surfing in England exists! I have experienced it myself! I've had a wonderful time in Croyde and I am amazed by the nature and surfing atmosphere. Something you'd least expect from England, right? Croyde has an amazing history of surfing and it's a wonderful place to visit for those that wish to experience both surfing and the England countryside at the same time! 

Check out my other travel posts:
Travel Story #2: Indonesia, Amed, Diving In A Japanese Shipwreck! by chrisadventures
Travel Story #1: Indonesia, Nusa Penida: A Touch Of Paradise, The Place Less Travelled! by chrisadventures

If you enjoyed reading this re-post, please upvote and follow to read my future adventures!

#travel #photography #life #nature #surfing 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61191.20
ETH 2972.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48