Travel Story #10, Valencia, Spain, My Student Life Abroad! - by chrisadventures

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Erasmus Exchanges are known to be "The Time Of Your Life". In the beginning I was quite curious why and what would make this such a big thing? For those who don't know about such a programme, during an Erasmus Exchange, students live and study abroad for a certain amount of time. In my case this was 6 months. I'm from the Netherlands and I went to Spain from last September till February 2017. I'd like to share a short story with all of you that consider taking such a big step. Although I was a bit scared of getting myself out there.. It was definitely worth it!

Photo: on top of Penyagolosa, the highest mountain in the province of Valencia


Photo: Valencia on the map


Photo: Plaza de la Virgen, the very centre of Valencia

When I arrived in Valencia in the start of September 2016 I had no idea what to expect. During my flight to Spain I was often wondering "why am I even doing this?" I had my life all sorted out in the Netherlands, why make such a big step into the unknown? Within a few days that worry had dissappeared and I started to realize why. 

Within a couple of day I managed to find a student house. I ended up living in a student area of Valencia in a large house with a roof terrace, nearby clubs and bars situated on a beautiful location near the beach. 

Photos: my student house in Valencia and breakfast on my roof terrace

Surf Valencia

One of my motivations to go to Valencia was to improve my surfing skills, one of my life dreams. It's difficult to surf in the Netherlands due to its geographical circumstances so I had to create the opportunity by myself. In Valencia I managed to surf over 20 times and succesfully surfed clean waves and managed to catch them sideways for the first time! Many Erasmus friends joined the surfing sessions.

Photos: surfing with my Erasmus friends in Valencia

Another reason to go to on Erasmus were definitely the parties. In Gandía we had an awesome swimming pool party with over 2000 other students.

Photo: an impression of Gandía Wonderwall (source: click here)

Photo: WOW! Xceed Pool Party in Gandía

For those out there reading this and wondering: "should I do an Erasmus Exchange?" or "should I take this big step into the unknown?" I would definitely answer with a big fat YES. Such a time is challenging, exciting and helps you become more open-minded to different cultures. You will build up an interesting international social network. My Erasmus Exchange has been a moment of taking a big step in life and being rewarded for it. I hope you guys feel a bit inspired and in case you are facing a big decision, maybe this post helps you realize that the world of opportunities is right at your doorstep!

Support me by replying, voting up and following my blog! Give me some feedback to help me improve my writings. In one week I'll be flying to Indonesia and I'll keep sharing my photos and stories with all of you. I will be there for 2 months, please follow @chrisadventures to read about my adventures!

Read my previous travel post:  Travel Story #9, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia, Photography Of Our Visit To The Monkey Forest - by chrisadventures

#travel #life #photography #inspirational #surfing

Sort:  

Are you still in Valencia? We live there when we're not traveling. Have you experienced Fallas yet?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77