You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First World Vs Third World. Good Deal Vs Bad Deal?......Conversation Between Myself and @heyitshass on Why I Live the Way I Do.

in #travel7 years ago

Some good points here @world-travel-pro. I moved to Panama (which is not the cheapest compared to Thailand or some other places in the central America), but it's still WAY more affordable than Australia and has major tax advantages. i love it here. Sure, there are shitty things (rubbish, idiot drivers everywhere), but there are shitty things about Australia too.

Sort:  

I know what you mean regarding Panama cheaper than Austrailia! It's the main reason why I'm yet to visit that country.

Panama, I was just there about 5 months ago and I traveled from Colombia to Mexico. What brought you to Panama? I find that an interesting choice. I chose Ecuador and spent two years getting my permanent visa there. Which I have and plan to keep. I enjoyed such perks as living in the valley of longevity with a furnished apartment for 180 dollars a month including all utilities and internet. Organic local food came to about 30 dollars a week!

But yes I agree totally with your last statement, no place on the planet is perfect.

I love meeting fellow like minded members of Steemit. I'm gonna have to go check out your page. Thanks for stopping by mine. Have a great day! -Dan

When I travelled through central/south America I liked Panama city (not having any thoughts of emigrating at the time). Then when I got sick of tax/government cracking down on personal privacy etc.) I started looking at other countries. Singapore was my first choice at the time but I wasn't getting any responses to job applications and they've cracked down hard on foreign visas in the past few years.

So I looked at central America and Panama just kept ticking boxes - territorial tax, friendly nations visa, good infrastructure, tropical (which I LOVE - I'm done with winters), in US timezone (since I now trade US markets for a living), no military, it's safe.

So I moved here. Been here just over a year now. It took 3 months to get permanent residency and I love it. I have no intention of moving back to Australia any time soon.

That's fantastic. So happy that you are happy with your decision. Looks like you and panama are an excellent match. I know what you mean about no winters too. I'm from Albany NY. But I haven seen snow now for about 15 years or so!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29