Day Trip to Bogue Chitto State Park

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0161.JPG

I went there twice last month: once by myself after a meetup got cancelled at the last minute and once with my brother at the end of May. For a place this beautiful it is surprisingly close to home. It's only a 45 minute drive up LA-25 from Mandeville. The landscape is serene and a pleasant change from the flat swamp lands of the North Shore. The rolling hills of Washington Parish make me feel like I've entered a different state.

IMG_0160.JPG

For only three dollars I was able to get in a day of mountain biking. Riding Bogue Chitto's Gorge trail is perhaps the closest thing to mountain biking in Southeastern Louisiana. This is the lake behind the day use area.

IMG_0166.JPG

This is another angle of the Bogue Chitto river from Gorge trail run. As you can see the water is pretty low at this time. May was a dry month for us.

IMG_0167.JPG

Although the deer flies were pretty bad, and I forgot to bring deet spray, the experience of going there more than compensated for it. I would go back even in peak season.

IMG_0169.JPG

Since it's still in Louisiana, Bogue Chitto state park also had swamps located in the bottom lands around the primitive camping areas. You can barley make out a baby alligator in the background.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74