A Photo Recap of My Trip to Dakar, Senegal.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I have a dream–to travel all 54 countries in Africa before I turn 40. I am 29 now. I think it's a pretty realistic goal.


Screen Shot 2017-12-17 at 9.18.46 AM.png

First country on my list was Senegal and not to sound cliché or whatever but it was a beautiful experience. Senegal is well known for its hospitality, vibrant art scene and creative community, delectable cuisines, its dense youthful population, lively market and its rich musical culture. It was amazing to experience this first hand.

You know what they say, a picture is worth more than a thousand words.

  • First stop from Leopold Sedar Senghor Airport–The Raddsion Blu Hotel.

Arrived.jpg
IMG_9387.JPG

  • The hotel has a restaurant that serves local Senegalese food. I had the national dish, Thieboudienne while my husband had the Chicken Yassa.

food.jpg

  • I visited the Sokhamon Hotel where we were greeted by Simb dancers.

Image-1.png

  • Sokhamon Hotel is characterized by its expressionist architecture. It seemed like something out of the movies.

sok2.jpg
Sokhamon.jpg
sok3.jpg

  • Needless to say, I thoroughly enjoyed Senegalese food.

food.jpg
IMG_3802.jpg

  • I visited Ngor Island. It's one of the islands in Senegal where walking is the main mode of transportation. There is a speedboat that takes you from Dakar to the island.

ngor.jpg
ngor2.jpg
ngor3.jpg

  • Also visited Goree Island which is the location of the House of Slaves–a former trading post for slave trade. It is now used as a tourist destination to show the horrors of the slave trade.

goree.jpg
goree2.jpg
goree3.jpg
goree4.jpg

Other activities included

  • A plane ride over Dakar,

IMG_3790.jpg

  • A stay at a serene private beach resort in Sal,

IMG_3794.jpg

  • Exploring the arts and crafts market

IMG_3799.jpg
DSCF5437.JPG

  • A visit to Lac Rose (Pink Lake)–Senegal's 'Dead Sea' where salt is harvested.

IMG_4623.jpg

  • A boat ride to Ile De Sarpant–another picturesque island off the coast of Dakar

IMG_3784 copy.jpg
IMG_3742 copy.jpg

I wasn't exaggerating when I said Senegal is beautiful. There is so much more to explore and I only scratched the surface. Hope you enjoyed looking at these.

P.s. I am also open to answer any travel related questions you may have about Dakar.

Sort:  

Awesome pictures. Well documented!

Sweet beaches.

Congratulations @chikadibia! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I followed you after reading the very first paragraph of this post :)
I used to live in Dakar and this post almost brought nostalgic tears to my eyes 🙏🏿⭐️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66751.68
ETH 3487.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.03