Travel experience to Oyo.

in #travel6 years ago

"Every great move begins with a little step".

This is what my father taught me right from when I was a child. Then I wished I could travel the world and write about my travel adventures.

IMG-20180215-WA0059.jpg

Even today looking at the likes of @sweetsssj, @timsaid, @for91days and @tangerinetravels, I still wish that I can make enough to fund my travels round the world.

Today I was lucky enough to be fortuned to travel outside my house and school. I live in Lagos Nigeria and school at Federal Polytechnic Oko, Anambra, Nigeria.

IMG-20180215-WA0069.jpg

While I was in Lagos after my first year in school(we were on break), my boss at m electrical/electronics engineering work place called me for a minor job.

IMG-20180215-WA0053.jpg

As usual I am always ready to take up any job at hand. He briefed me on the job and the info made more excited than I had ever been. We were going to Oyo state, specifically Awe here in Nigeria.

IMG-20180215-WA0091.jpg

I was so happy I called my parents immediately to inform them of my travel plans.
This was because the last time my boss wanted us to travel to Abuja for a job, my parents refused because I wasn’t up to 18 years of age.

IMG-20180215-WA0058.jpg

Well this time I was just above 18 and they couldn’t find a new excuse for me not to go.

In three days time we were to leave for Oyo, before then I had already packed. We were to stay there for a week, and me being a scout I love being prepared for every situation. I packed a week’s shirt, trouser, singlets and underwears, plus all other necessities for living outside your home for a week.

IMG-20180215-WA0067.jpg

Finally we were on the road. We went through Ogun state, before getting to Oyo. Our first night in Oyo was spent at Fiditi, Oyo. That was where my boss’s family resided. The next day we went to Awe for the job.

IMG-20180215-WA0075.jpg

It wasn’t a job that would pay like the others but I went for the travel experience. The job was to tutor the Locals in Awe on the Inverter, its importance and values.

IMG-20180215-WA0073.jpg

The place we stayed throughout the entire program was given to us by a kind-hearted local who was also there for the program.
The Alaawe of Awe gave us his palace grounds as a venue.

IMG-20180215-WA0090.jpg

He is like the king of the Awe people. That gesture alone made me rebuff all the negative thoughts I had about the Yoruba people.

We (me and my colleagues, except from my boss) usually have breakfast at a particular joint close to the Kings palace.

IMG-20180215-WA0072.jpg

The Yorubas are not known well for their food variety, so we had to stick to eating bread and beans as breakfast, yam flour and okro soup as lunch or vice-versa.

IMG-20180215-WA0077.jpg

We had a swell time there working and at the same time relaxing as there were so many places to take nature walks at.

IMG-20180215-WA0089.jpg

After a week there we rounded up the program and headed home. This was my first travel experience outside Lagos or Anambra.

PEACE OUT. ✌️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19