You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts on Returning Home, After 4 Years Away.

in #travel7 years ago

"Personal development, it seems to me, often has to take place far-removed from the dynamics and social structures one has been born and raised into. This might just involve meditation for some people. For me it involved moving 8,000 miles away"

I feel you. That healthy distance is important
Furthermore, what is a healthy distance for one person is not the same for another. I personally have started feeling a lot less guilt complex now that people are 800 miles away. You put it well too, sure there will be some good nostalgic moments but it's good to try to have healthy (to no) expectations. As you said, some conversation might fall flat in 5 minutes. This has proven all too true for me. Turns out, I am a much different person in my values, way of life, and general world view than what i "left behind. " Some people will live in your head everyday, whether for the good or bad. Hopefully the good but we all know that's a bit of a pipe dream. Letting going of the constructs those people value and the control they want to exert over our lives is key. Furthermore, you can be on anther continent and still be being controlled by the past. But certainly being on anther continent helps. Ah I have rambled a lot in this response. Your post def resonates. Hope it goes well for you and your family.

Sort:  

Thanks, Chelsea. That means a lot.

Letting go of the constructs...they want to exert over our lives is key.

This is so true, and one of the reasons I haven’t been back. And the truly hard part is often that the people themselves don’t even see and are not aware that they are doing this...

That said. Fuck the constructs. I’m gonna have myself a time. ;)

Thanks always for your thoughtful commentary. Always makes me feel a little more sane.

No problem. =)
True oftentimes "they" Don't know they are doing what they're doing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60629.29
ETH 2636.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51