Chelsey's Chronicles #4: Thailand (PART 1) - Bangkok Streetfood Cravings

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Sawadee ka Steemians!

I know it's been a while since my last post but I only just got back from my escape to Thailand and although I brought my laptop with me, I wasn't completely in the mood to blog whilst I was over there. Instead, I focused on playing with my new toy - the CANON G7X Mark II

This new camera will be sure to complement my thorough enjoyment in documenting aspects of my life. I was considering getting a camera before my Thailand trip but wasn't sure if my iPhone 7 would be enough. Boy, am I glad we got the G7X, because the photo quality is incredible and the wifi function is so worth it! (This means I can transfer all my pictures straight to my phone). I'm no professional photographer so I definitely need to take more pictures, learn and experiment with all the camera functions - super excited to do so, especially for my trip to Shanghai and Japan in July! (I have the travel bug)

So back to Thailand

@nishyfishy and I travelled for about 9 days - 4 nights in Bangkok and 4 nights in Ao Nang, Krabi. Thailand was, as expected, a hot and buzzing city filled with a drunken concoction of noise, lights, markets and food. Pictured above is the suffocating traffic jams that we usually saw

ohhhh the glorious food available to us!

Street food stalls near our hotel

Our hotel was located on a side road just off Sukhumvit road where a few food stalls were set up everyday. There was noodle vendors, fruit vendors, skewers (pork, chicken, seafood) cooking over charcoal and salads in airtight bags.

7516836416_IMG_0036.JPG

Luckily for us, the vendors we chose offered pictures of the food in front of their carts, which allowed us to just point to them when ordering.

7518817088_IMG_0033.JPG

Our favourite was the fragrant chicken soup with egg that only left us wanting more!
The stall provided complimentary condiments such as dry chilli flakes, sugar, peanuts and soy sauce. However, the real star was the chilli paste that added a kick of spiciness to the already flavourful soup. In total, the 2 bowls only cost us 100 baht (That's only $4 AUD!!!!)

7583923840_IMG_0269.JPG

Another notable location for food was located just outside of MBK.

MBK is a huge mall known for selling counterfeit goods. A lot of bargaining takes place here and often, if you see something you like, it is most likely to see the same item of the same quality at a lower price. Shoppers are therefore advised to be ok with walking away to avoid being scammed. It was definitely lots of fun trying to negotiate with the vendors. I highly recommend just asking if they can even lower the price! A good tip is if you buy more than one, it's guaranteed to lower the overall price. Just approach them with a smile and a genuine interest in the item :)

After browsing the neverending aisles of goods, we walked out to an open food market filled with a variety of different stalls. We decided to get a Pad Thai and a passionfruit juice. It was this night that marked my obsession for passionfruit juice !!

7516759456_IMG_0172.JPG

Stay tuned for Part 2 of my Bangkok adventures!

With Love,
Chels

x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63235.53
ETH 2558.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63