You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Stopped Teaching in Vietnam/ Pros & Cons of Working Abroad

in #travel6 years ago

I'm glad to see someone tell it like it is and give both sides of the story, plenty of South African's have been shilling this dream of working abroad and making cash if you're going in with that mindset i think you're probably going to get a real slap in the face with real world dynamics

I'm planning to check out Vietnam very soon for holiday, how did you find the standard of living?

Sort:  

Thanks for the feedback. When you say standard of living are you referring to the average Vietnamese person or that of a foreigner who goes over? If you are a foreigner going over there with some money it is easy to find a good place to stay, good food etc. Plus if you are going to tourist locations such as Ho Chi Minh or Da Nang I’m sure you can find 5 star of everything if that fits your budget.

For the average Vietnames person however money is not that big of a deal. They live in very average houses and go month to month without a worry about saving or buying this or that. Of course there are exceptions to this but in general this is what I observed.

I meant as a foreigner and thanks for answering my question. I met a few Aussies and NZ's in Thailand a few weeks ago who had just come from Vietnam and they gave it rave reviews, so I was just interested in getting a second opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62084.99
ETH 2415.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62