@cheft in Bali Day 1 the chronicles

in #travel6 years ago

Day 1
I really don’t know if I’ve ever had such a relaxed travel experience in my whole life, I’m talking from the minute I got onto my first flight, my experience at the airport in Bali, getting set up with WiFi, spotting my host who was also my shuttle driver and settling into my airbnb.

image

I know I look a little tired but inside I’m containing my inner 5 year old who at this point is just jumping with excitement.

image

Good morning Bali.❤️❤️❤️

image

I loved the look of this airport so traditional. And beautiful.

Let me start at the beginning with my impression ofthe airport and my experience there. I landed around 7:55 on Friday morning, it had clearly been raining this morning as the tarmac and aircraft were all drizzled with fresh raindrops. I wasn’t overly concerned about this, so I took in the scenery and prepared to disembark. The airport is clearly very Balinese in design, actually quite different to the more modern architectural aspects you find in most airports these day. I liked it, it was different and beautiful.

image

The plane landed and I headed inside to the completely carpeted interior, which is a first for me, most airports I’ve been in are tiled all the way to the ceiling and even though the carpeted floors gave the space a bit of a dated look, for me it also warmed the space and made it somewhat inviting.

image

There were hardly any people around I guess because of the time we landed but the clearly visible signs led all the passengers to immigration. Being a South African I have visa free access like many other countries but I wasn’t expecting the process to be as stress-free and relaxed as it was. The only question the immigration official asked was a request rather for me to step back and kindly remove my glasses for the camera. And that was it, I was halfway through, customs was pretty simple as well I filled out the form handed it to the handsome smiling official collecting customs forms and went for my final scan and finally out into the arrival area. Where I got an ok exchange for my fiat.

image

Then off to find Klook which is an online mobile WiFi lending service. Where I had already pre-arranged my pickup, paid $50 security deposit and went off to Ubud.

It was quite a long drive but I finally arrived and fell in love with the setup of my first homestay. A little tired at this point so I decided to go out for a walk and get food at the first place I spot which happened to be a charming little deli/coffee shop where I got fresh plain and chocolate croissants, vanilla cake, chocolate moose, a breakfast burger, and a nice cup of jasmine green tea. Y’all know I don’t play around when I’m hungry and for me I usually have the biggest appetite when I’m traveling so I take full advantage of that and eat my heat out. Ideally a more local meal would’ve been great but I figured I’d venture out a bit more for dinner and specifically eat at a local place. The rest of the afternoon was spent napping and rejuvenating.

Stay tuned Day 2 was full of adventure, I’m actually living through like the 4th sight and activity as I rehash yesterday’s happenings.

I do hope you all enjoy this read, don’t forget to RESTEEM, upvote and comment. I’m on my way to a waterfall.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88